44 players named to Paul Hornung Award Watch List

Dri Archer is one of three returning 2012 Paul Hornung Award Finalists. (USATSI)
Dri Archer is one of three returning 2012 Paul Hornung Award Finalists. (USATSI)
If the offseason finish line is finally crawling into sight -- and with Media Days later this very month and fall camps opening in around five weeks -- it must be time for college football awards watch lists.

Friday gives us the watch list for the 2013 Paul Hornung Award, given annually to "the most versatile player in major college football" by the Louisville Sports Commission. The 2013 list includes 44 players chosen "by a panel of college football experts based on a combination of 2012 statistics, career performance and expectations heading into the 2013 season."

The list includes three of the finalists from 2012. That honor went to West Virginia's Tavon Austin. USC's Marqise Lee, Kent State's Dri Archer, and Western Kentucky's Antonio Andrews are again on this year's list.

The complete list:

Jared Abbrederis, Wisconsin
Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska
Antonio Andrews, WKU
Dri Archer, Kent State
D.J. Banks, Louisiana Tech
Odell Beckham Jr., LSU
Corey Brown, Ohio State
Isaiah Burse, Fresno State
Trey Burton, Florida
Michael Campanaro, Wake Forest
Brandon Carter, TCU
Chris Coyer, Temple
Quandre Diggs, Texas
Stefon Diggs, Maryland
Bruce Ellington, South Carolina
Tyler Ervin, San Jose State
Cody Fajardo, Nevada
JD Falslev, BYU
D.J. Foster, Arizona State
Jerry “BooBoo” Gates, Bowling Green
Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State
Jamal Golden, Georgia Tech
Scott Harding, Hawaii
Akeem Hunt, Purdue
Kyshoen Jarrett, Virginia Tech
Duke Johnson, Miami (FLA)
Christion Jones, Alabama
Marqise Lee, Southern California
Tommylee Lewis, Northern Illinois
Tyler Lockett, Kansas State
Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Venric Mark, Northwestern
Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia
Marcus Murphy, Missouri
LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State
Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida
Bernard Reedy, Toledo
Jamill Smith, Ball State
Damien Thigpen, UCLA
De’Anthony Thomas, Oregon
Tramaine Thompson, Kansas State
Sammy Watkins, Clemson
Trey Watts, Tulsa 

A Lousiville native, Hornung is personally involved with the award.

“The Paul Hornung Award Watch List for the upcoming season is an impressive group of players who excel at multiple positions to help their teams win, which is how I played the game,” Hornung said as part of the announcement. “I look forward to honoring the winner here in Louisville at one of the best banquets the country has to offer for college football players and their families.”

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories