Alabama’s Jonathan Allen wins Bronko Nagurski Trophy

Alabama senior defensive end Jonathan Allen became the first player in Crimson Tide history to win a National Defensive Player of the Year award Monday evening, as Allen was named the recipient of the 2016 Bronko Nagurski Trophy in Charlotte, N.C.

The Nagurski Trophy is presented annually to the National Defensive Player of the Year.

Allen has been a force for one of the nation’s top-ranked units, anchoring the defensive line. He has a team-high 15 quarterback hurries to go with his 56 tackles, 8.5 of which are sacks (-72 yards), which ranks second on the team. The senior defensive lineman has returned a team-leading two fumble recoveries for 105 combined yards and two touchdowns. His 26.5 career sacks places him second on the Tide’s all-time list behind former Crimson Tide standout and NFL Hall of Famer Derrick Thomas.

(Make sure you're in the know by signing up for FREE Alabama newsletter!)

Allen joined teammate Reuben Foster, defensive back Tarvarus McFadden (Florida State), linebacker/defensive back Jabrill Peppers (Michigan) and defensive tackle Christian Wilkins (Clemson) as the five nominees for this year’s Nagurski Trophy. The award is named after the legendary Bronko Nagurski, who dominated college football at the University of Minnesota as a bruising fullback and defensive tackle from 1927-29.

This was Alabama’s sixth consecutive season with at least one finalist for the award, but Allen was the first player to win it -- or any other National Defensive Player of the Year Award. The previous Crimson Tide players to be named finalists include: Reggie Ragland(2015), Landon Collins (2014), C.J. Mosley (2013), Dee Milliner (2012), Mark Barron (2011), Terrence Cody (2009) and Rashad Johnson (2008). 

Enjoy VIP access to BamaOnLine for FREE until Jan. 1, 2017 with this trial.

Join our Pick'em Challenge and compete for $1,000 each week.

Our Latest Stories