Butkus Award finalists announced

    Buffalo's Khalil Mack is one of the five finalists    
Buffalo's Khalil Mack is one of the five finalists. (USATSI)

The Butkus Award, given to the best linebacker in college football, announced its five finalists on Monday. Those finalists are:

Anthony Barr, UCLA

Khalil Mack, Buffalo

C.J. Mosley, Alabama

Ryan Shazier, Ohio State

Shayne Skov, Stanford

Personally I'm happy to see that Buffalo's Khalil Mack was recognized for his play. All too often with these awards we see deserving players from smaller conferences passed over, so it's nice to see Mack recognized alongside his brethren from the Pac-12, SEC and Big Ten.

The Butkus Award is obviously named after former Illinois linebacker and NFL Hall of Famer Dick Butkus. Last year's recipient was Notre Dame's Manti Te'o.

CBS Sports Writer

Tom Fornelli has been a college football writer at CBS Sports since 2010. During his time at CBS, Tom has proven time and again that he hates your favorite team and thinks your rival is a paragon of football... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories