BYU, UCLA each with three LBs on Butkus Award watch list

Kyle Van Noy is one of three BYU linebackers on the 2013 Butkus Award watch list. (USATSI)
Kyle Van Noy is one of three BYU linebackers on the 2013 Butkus Award watch list. (USATSI)

Watch-list season continues into the final week. The rest of college football's individual awards will be releasing watch lists this week, concluding with the Walter Camp Award watch list on Friday.

The Butkus Award, established in 1985, is named for College Football Hall of Fame and Pro Football Hall of Fame linebacker Dick Butkus. The award is given to the top collegiate linebacker by the Butkus Foundation, with last year's winner being former Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o. 

The 2013 watch list includes 51 linebackers from across multiple divisions of college football. The foundation will announce a list of semifinalists in October, followed by the announcement of the finalists in late November. The award now includes high school and the professional ranks, but the collegiate award will be announced in early December. 

BYU and UCLA lead the way among all schools, with three players each on the Butkus list. The Cougars have Spencer Hadley and Uani Unga on the list along with Kyle Van Noy -- likely one of the frontrunners heading into the regular season. The Bruins have another favorite in Anthony Barr, but the foundation also included Eric Kendricks and Jordan Zumwalt on the preseason list. 

Check out the full list below. Remember, names can be added or removed from this list during the first weeks of the season. There are no official "snubs" yet.

Jeremiah Attaochu, Georgia Tech

Anthony Barr, UCLA

Lamin Barrow, LSU

Dorian Bell, Duquesne

Greg Blair, Cincinnati 

Chris Borland, Wisconsin

Carl Bradford, Arizona State

Preston Brown, Louisville

Jonathan Brown, Illinois

Max Bullough, Michigan State

Carlo Calabrese, Notre Dame

Glenn Carson, Penn State

Steele Divitto, Boston College

Dan Fox, Notre Dame

Jeremiah George, Iowa State

Spencer Hadley, Brigham Young

Bryce Hager, Baylor

Anthony Hitchens, Iowa

Adrian Hubbard, Alabama

Cqulin Hubert, Southeastern Louisiana

Andrew Jackson, Western Kentucky 

Jordan Jenkins, Georgia

Derrell Johnson, East Carolina 

A.J. Johnson, Tennessee

Christian Jones, Florida State

Eric Kendricks, UCLA

Christian Kirksey, Iowa

DeDe Lattimore, South Florida

Boseko Lokombo, Oregon

Khalil Mack, Buffalo

Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State

Jamal Merrell, Rutgers

James Morris, Iowa

C.J. Mosley, Alabama

Trent Murphy, Stanford

Hayes Pullard, USC

Trevor Reilly, Utah

D.T. Shackelford, Mississippi 

Ryan Shazier, Ohio State

Prince Shembo, Notre Dame

Deontae Skinner, Mississippi State

Shane Skov, Stanford

Yawin Smallwood, UConn

Telvin Smith, Florida State

Uani Unga, Brigham Young

Kyle Van Noy, Brigham Young

Brandon Watts, Georgia Tech

Derrick Webb, Colorado 

Avery Williamson, Kentucky 

Chris Young, Arizona State

Jordan Zumwalt, UCLA 

CBS Sports Writer

Chip Patterson has spent his young career covering college sports from the Old North State. He's been writing and talking about football and basketball for CBS Sports since 2010. You may have heard him... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories