Summer is coming to an end and the 2016 college football season is right around the corner, which makes this the perfect time to announce the CBS Sports 2016 Preseason All-America Team as voted on by our panel of college football experts from and

There were five unanimous selections and players representing 16 programs among the 27 first-team selections. Alabama (five) and Florida State (three) led the way with Clemson, Florida, LSU, Ohio State and Tennessee (two each) among other teams with multiple selections.

Among conferences, the SEC was on top with 12 first-team picks as the Big Ten (six), ACC (five) and Pac-12 (four) fell in line behind it. The Big 12 only had a single player among the 55 selected, second-team quarterback Baker Mayfield.

The second also team includes three players from outside the Power Five conferences along with a tie for the third linebacker spot.

Check out the CBS Sports preseason awards and All-America teams below.

Preseason Awards

Player of the Year: Deshaun Watson, QB, Clemson

Coach of the Year: Nick Saban, Alabama

Preseason All-America Teams

CBS Sports First Team
QB Deshaun Watson* Clemson Junior
RB Leonard Fournette* LSU Junior
RB Dalvin Cook Florida State Junior
WR JuJu Smith-Schuster* USC Junior
WR Calvin Ridley Alabama Sophomore
TE Jake Butt Michigan Senior
C Pat Elfein Ohio State Senior
OL Roderick Johnson* Florida State Junior
OL Cam Robinson Alabama Junior
OL Dan Feeney Indiana Senior
OL Zach Banner USC Senior
DE Myles Garrett* Texas A&M Junior
DE Jonathan Allen Alabama Senior
DT Malik McDowell Michigan State Junior
DT Carlos Watkins Clemson Senior
LB Raekwon McMillan Ohio State Junior
LB Jarrad Davis Florida Senior
LB Tim Williams Alabama Senior
CB Desmond King Iowa Senior
CB Jalen (Teez) Tabor Florida Junior
S Derwin James Florida State Sophomore
S Jamal Adams LSU Junior
K Andy Phillips Utah Senior
P JK Scott Alabama Junior
KR Evan Berry Tennessee Junior
PR Cameron Sutton Tennessee Senior
AP Christian McCaffrey Stanford Junior
* Denotes unanimous selection

Nine players return from the 2015 CBS Sports All-America First Team chosen last December: Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson, LSU running back Leonard Fournette, Michigan tight end Jake Butt, Iowa cornerback Desmond King and Stanford all-purpose star Christian McCaffrey.

CBS Sports Second Team
QB Baker Mayfield Oklahoma Junior
RB Christian McCaffrey Stanford Junior
RB Royce Freeman Oregon Junior
WR Christian Kirk Texas A&M Sophomore
WR Corey Davis Western Michigan Senior
TE O.J. Howard Alabama Senior
C Brian Allen Michigan State Junior
OL Dan Voltz Wisconsin Junior
OL Mike McGlinchey Notre Dame Senior
OL Mitch Hyatt Clemson Sophomore
OL Conor McDermott UCLA Senior
DE Derek Barnett Tennessee Junior
DE DeMarcus Walker Florida State Senior
DT Eddie Vanderdoes UCLA Junior
DT Lowell Lotulelei Utah Junior
LB DeVonte Fields Louisville Senior
LB Reuben Foster Alabama Senior
LB Anthony Walker Northwestern Junior
Jabrill Peppers Michigan Junior
CB Jourdan Lewis Michigan Senior
CB Adoree Jackson USC Junior
S Budda Baker Washington Junior
S Marcus Maye Florida Senior
K Daniel Carlson Auburn Junior
P Austin Rehkow Idaho Senior
KR Rashaad Penny San Diego State Junior
PR William Likely Maryland Senior
AP Adoree Jackson USC Junior