Florida State QB Jameis Winston wins 2013 Heisman Trophy

Jameis Winston became the second redshirt freshman to win the Heisman Trophy.  (USATSI)
Jameis Winston became the second redshirt freshman to win the Heisman Trophy. (USATSI)

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston was named the 2013 Heisman Trophy winner on Saturday night, marking the second straight season the award has gone to a redshirt freshman quarterback.

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, also a finalist, became the first freshman to win the award in 2012. 

Heisman voting
Player, School 1st 2nd 3rd Tot.
Jameis Winston, FSU 668 84 33 2,205
AJ McCarron, Alabama 79 162 143 704
Jordan Lynch, NIU 40 149 140 558
Andre Williams, BC 29 127 129 470
Johnny Manziel, A&M 30 103 125 421
Tre Mason, Auburn 31 121 69 404
Bryce Petty, Baylor 4 40 35 127
Derek Carr, Fresno St. 6 23 43 107
Braxton Miller, Ohio St. 4 21 37 91
Ka'Deem Carey, Arizona 2 14 36 70

Winston won the award with 2,205 points, 1,501 more points than Alabama's AJ McCarron. It's the seventh-largest margin of victory in Heisman history. And while Winston won in a landslide, winning each region of the vote, he was left off 115 ballots.

Winston led Florida State to a 13-0 regular season finish that included the school's second straight ACC Championship and a bid to the BCS title game against Auburn in Pasadena. With Winston at the helm of the offense, the Seminoles tore through their schedule with a margin of victory of more than 42 points per game. 

While Florida State's dominance was a team effort aided by Winston, the redshirt freshman stood out from the rest of the competition with impressive individual accomplishments as well. Winston finished with 3,820 passing yards and 38 passing touchdowns -- an ACC record and FBS freshman record -- while maintaining the nation's highest pass efficiency rating (190.06).  

Winston joins Charlie Ward (1993) and Chris Weinke (2000) as the only Seminoles to win the award. Florida State becomes one of just ten schools to have at least three Heisman Trophy winners -- Notre Dame (7), Ohio State (7), USC (6) and Oklahoma (5) are the only schools with more. 

CBS Sports Writer

Chip Patterson has spent his young career covering college sports from the Old North State. He's been writing and talking about football and basketball for CBS Sports since 2010. You may have heard him... Full Bio

Our Latest Stories