Hornung Award finalists: Manziel, Myles Jack lead versatile group

UCLA freshman Myles Jack is one of five finalists for the Paul Hornung Award. (USATSI)
UCLA freshman Myles Jack is one of five finalists for the Paul Hornung Award. (USATSI)

The finalists for the Paul Hornung Award, given annually to the most versatile player in major college football, were announced on Thursday. The group, introduced by Paul Hornung himself, includes return specialists, multipurpose offensive threats, and the latest two-way star. 

Marion Grice, Arizona State running back/return specialist 

Antonio Andrews, Western Kentucky running back/return specialist

Odell Beckham Jr., LSU wide receiver/return specialist

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M quarterback

Myles Jack, UCLA linebacker/running back

Hornung, the 1956 Heisman Trophy winner and holder of the NFL's single-season scoring record, seemed pleased with the collection of finalists.

"I like this group of players as finalists for my award," he said. "They show up in the big games, can find the end zone and do what it takes to win - which was how I played the game. It will be interesting to watch them in action the rest of the season."

Marion Grice and Myles Jack will like up opposite each other on Saturday when Arizona State visits to play the Bruins with the Pac-12 South on the line. Johnny Manziel and Odell Beckham will also share the field this week in Texas A&M-LSU; a game that can be seen on CBS and here on CBSSports.com

CBS Sports Writer

Chip Patterson has spent his young career covering college sports from the Old North State. He's been writing and talking about football and basketball for CBS Sports since 2010. You may have heard him... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories
    CBS Sports Shop