Jim Tressel, Brian Bosworth headline 2015 CFB Hall of Fame class

Jim Tressel didn't have to wait long for his Hall of Fame call. (USATSI)
Jim Tressel didn't have to wait long for his Hall of Fame call. (USATSI)

The National Football Foundation announced the 2015 class of inductees for the College Football Hall of Fame on Friday, with former Ohio State coach Jim Tressel, Oklahoma linebacker Brian Bosworth and Texas running back Ricky Williams among the notable names listed for inclusion.

As reported Thursday, 75-year-old Kansas State coach Bill Snyder -- fresh off another successful year with the Wildcats and poised to return in 2015 -- will also be inducted this year.

Tressel's inclusion could be a rare controversial selection for the Hall, with the current Youngstown State University president still not four full years removed from resigning his position with the Buckeyes amid NCAA scrutiny. Tressel remains under an NCAA show-cause order imposed following the program's infamous "Tattoogate" scandal, but won national championships with both FCS Youngstown State and Ohio State before leaving college coaching with an overall record of 229-79-2.

In a statement, Tressel called his induction an "extraordinary honor."

"To be inducted alongside such a distinguished group of players and coaches, and to join the previously elected members, is certainly humbling." 

A lightning-rod star for Barry Switzer's powerful Oklahoma teams of the 1980s, Bosworth remains the sport's only two-time Butkus Award winner.

"It took my breath away. I started to cry," Bosworth said of learning he would be inducted, per Oklahoma football. "I share this honor with all my great teammates and coaches who were part of the success we enjoyed at the University of Oklahoma."

The first-ever two-time winner of the Doak Walker Award, Williams won the Heisman Trophy in 1998 and left Texas as the all-time FBS career leading rusher.

The full list of 2015 Hall of Fame inductees:


Trev Alberts – LB, Nebraska (1990-93)

Brian Bosworth – LB, Oklahoma (1984-86)

Bob Breunig – LB, Arizona State (1972-74)

Sean Brewer – DL, Millsaps (Miss.) (1989-92)

Ruben Brown – OT, Pittsburgh (1991-94)

Wes Chandler – SE, Florida (1974-77)

Thom Gatewood – SE, Notre Dame (1969-71)

Dick Jauron – RB, Yale (1970-72)

Clinton Jones – HB, Michigan State (1964-66)

Lincoln Kennedy – OT, Washington (1989-92)

Rob Lytle (deceased) – RB, Michigan (1974-76)

Michael Payton – QB, Marshall (1989-92)

Art Still – DE, Kentucky (1974-77)

Zach Thomas – LB, Texas Tech (1992-95)

Ricky Williams – RB, Texas (1995-98)


Bill Snyder – 187-94-1 (66.5%); Kansas State (1989-2005, 2009-Present)

Jim Tressel – 229-79-2 (74.2%); Youngstown State (1986-2000) and Ohio State (2001-10) 

For full bios from the National Football Foundation on each of the inductees, click here.

Our Latest Stories