Lombardi Award announces four finalists

    Anthony Barr is looking to become UCLA's first Lombardi Award winner    
Anthony Barr is looking to become UCLA's first Lombardi Award winner. (USATSI)

The Rotary Lombardi Award announced its four finalists on Thursday. The Lombardi Award, named after former Green Bay Packers coach Vince Lombardi, and given out by The Rotary Club of Houston, is given annually to the top college football lineman in the country.

This year's finalists are:

Anthony Barr, LB, UCLA

Aaron Donald, DT, Pittsburgh

C.J. Mosley, LB, Alabama

Michael Sam, DE, Missouri

The Lombardi Award is the second defensive award that Donald, Mosley and Sam are finalists for, along with the Nagurski Trophy.

Should C.J. Mosley win the award he'd be the first Alabama player to do so since Cornelius Bennett in 1986. Aaron Donald would be the first Pitt Panther to win since Hugh Green in 1980. Neither UCLA or Missouri have ever had a player win the Lombardi Award.

Last year's winner was Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o.

CBS Sports Writer

Tom Fornelli has been a college football writer at CBS Sports since 2010. During his time at CBS, Tom has proven time and again that he hates your favorite team and thinks your rival is a paragon of football... Full Bio

Our Latest Stories