Mackey Award and Rimington Trophy Watch Lists Released

Clemson tight end Dwayne Allen was named the Mackey Award winner in 2011(US Presswire)

Watch list has arrived in college football. The annual individual awards given at the end of the season will be rolling out their initial lists over the next couple weeks, and college football fans get their first round of debatable distinctions for 2012.

On Tuesday, a pair of awards along of the offensive line announced their preseason watch lists. The Nassau Co. Sports Commission has picked XX players for the initial Mackey Award list, presented annually to the nation's most outstanding tight end. In 2011, the award was presented to Clemson Tigers 's Dwayne Allen.

The Rimington Trophy is awarded to college football's best center by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Last year's winner was Michigan Wolverines center David Molk. In the award's short history (since 2000), all but four winners have been from the Big Ten or SEC.

Check out the full watch lists below, with conference breakdowns.

Mackey Award Watch List

Michael Williams , Alabama Crimson Tide
Chris Gragg , Arkansas Razorbacks
Phillip Lutzenkirchen, Auburn Tigers
Jordan Najvar , Baylor Bears
Chris Pantale , Boston College Eagles
Alex Bayer , Bowling Green Falcons
Brandon Ford , Clemson
Crockett Gillmore , Colorado Buffaloes State
Ryan Griffin , Connecticut Huskies
Garrett Hoskins , Eastern Michigan Eagles
Jordan Reed , Florida Gators
Ted Bolser , Indiana Hoosiers
C.J. Fiedorowicz , Iowa Hawkeyes
Mike Ragone, Kansas Jayhawks
Chase Clement , LSU Tigers
Matt Furstenburg , Maryland Terrapins
Dion Sims , Michigan State Spartans
Malcom Johnson, Ole Miss Rebels State
Kyler Reed , Nebraska Cornhuskers
Lucas Reed , New Mexico Lobos
Tyler Eifert , Notre Dame Fighting Irish
Jake Stoneburner , Ohio State Buckeyes State" data-canon="Ohio Bobcats" data-type="SPORTS_OBJECT_TEAM" id="shortcode0">
Hubie Graham , Pittsburgh Panthers
Luke Willson , Rice Owls
Gavin Escobar , San Diego State Aztecs
Ryan Otten , San Jose State Spartans
Levine Toilolo , Stanford Cardinal
Mychal Rivera , Tennessee Volunteers
Chase Harper , Texas Longhorns State
Joseph Fauria , UCLA Bruins
Austin Seferian-Jenkins , Washington Huskies
Jack Doyle , Western Kentucky Wildcats
Jacob Pedersen , Wisconsin Badgers

Mackey Award Watch List by Conference
SEC - 7
Big Ten - 6
Pac-12 - 3
ACC - 3
Mountain West Conference - 3
Big 12 - 2
WAC - 2
MAC - 2
Conference USA - 1
Independent - 1
Sun Belt - 1

Rimington Trophy Watch List

Barrett Jones , Alabama
Travis Swanson , Arkansas
Ryan Powis , Army West Point Black Knights
Reese Dismukes , Auburn
Dalton Freeman , Clemson
Gus Handler , Colorado
Weston Richburg , Colorado State Rams
Brian Moore , Duke Blue Devils
Jonotthan Harrison , Florida
Jay Finch , Georgia Bulldogs Tech
Mike Marboe , Idaho Vandals
Graham Pocic , Illinois Fighting Illini
Will Matte , Indiana
James Ferentz , Iowa
B.J. Finney , Kansas State Wildcats
Matt Smith , Kentucky
Stephen Warner , Louisiana Tech Bulldogs
Andre Huval , Louisiana-Lafayette
Mario Benavides, Louisville Cardinals
P.J. Lonergan , LSU
Dillon Day , Mississippi State Bulldogs
Camden Wentz , NC State
Dillon Farrell , New Mexico
Brandon Vitabile , Northwestern Wildcats
Braxston Cave , Notre Dame
Ben Habern , Oklahoma Sooners
Evan Swindall , Ole Miss
Hronis Grasu, Oregon Ducks
Matt Stankiewitch , Penn State Nittany Lions
Ryan Turnley , Pittsburgh
Alec Johnson , San Diego State
Blake McJunkin , SMU
T.J. Johnson , South Carolina Gamecocks
Austin Quattrochi , Southern Mississippi Golden Eagles
Sam Schartzstein, Stanford
Macky MacPherson , Syracuse Orange
James Fry , TCU Horned Frogs
Patrick Lewis , Texas A&M
Zac Kerin , Toledo Rockets
Trent Dupy , Tulsa Golden Hurricane
Jordan Rae , UCF Knights
Robert Waterman , UNLV Rebels
Khaled Holmes , USC
Tevita Stevens , Utah Utes
Tyler Larsen , Utah State Aggies
Eloy Atkinson , UTEP
Andrew Miller , Virginia Cavaliers Tech
Joe Madsen , West Virginia Mountaineers
Kevin Galeher , Western Michigan Broncos
Travis Frederick , Wisconsin
Nick Carlson , Wyoming Cowboys

Rimington Trophy Watch List by Conference
SEC - 10
Big Ten- 6
Big 12 - 5
ACC - 5
Pac-12 - 5
Conference USA - 5
Mountain West - 5
Big East - 3
WAC - 2
Independent - 2
MAC - 2
Sun Belt - 1

Remember, names can be added and will be taken off these award lists as the season progresses. But still feel free to let us know your feelings on the list in the comment section below. We can't prove or disprove a player's candidacy, but we can at least argue about it - right?

Keep up with the latest college football news from around the country. From the opening kick of the year all the way through the offseason, has you covered with thisdaily newsletter. View apreview.

Get College Football updates on Facebook

CBS Sports Writer

Chip Patterson has spent his young career covering college sports from the Old North State. He's been writing and talking about football and basketball for CBS Sports since 2010. You may have heard him... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories