Manziel, Winston, Mariota, McCarron all Maxwell Award semifinalists

Johnny Manziel won the Heisman Trophy but not the Maxwell Award in 2012. (USATSI)
Johnny Manziel won the Heisman Trophy but not the Maxwell Award in 2012. (USATSI)

The Maxwell Award, presented annually to the the most outstanding player in college football, has released a 16-player list of semifinalists for the prestigious award. The group includes two repeat semifinalists from 2012; Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron and 2012 Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel.

The Maxwell Award was won by former Notre Dame linebacker and current San Diego Charger Manti Te'o in 2012. Te'o, the runner-up to Manziel in the Heisman voting, became the first player to win the Maxwell Award and the Bednarik Award for defensive player of the year (both awards are presented by the Maxwell Football Club). 

The 2013 list of semifinalists  is made up of  ten quarterbacks, four running backs, and two wide receivers. Three different schools (Baylor, Oregon State, Texas A&M) have two players on the list and seven different conferences are represented.

The winners will be named as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 12. 

QB Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville

RB Ka’Deem Carey , Arizona

QB Derek Carr, Fresno State

WR Brandin Cooks, Oregon State

WR Mike Evans, Texas A&M

RB Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin

QB Sean Mannion, Oregon State

QB Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

QB Marcus Mariota, Oregon

QB AJ McCarron, Alabama

QB Aaron Murray, Georgia

QB Bryce Petty, Baylor

RB Bishop Sankey, Washington

RB Lache Seastrunk, Baylor

QB Jameis Winston, Florida State

CBS Sports Writer

Chip Patterson has spent his young career covering college sports from the Old North State. He's been writing and talking about football and basketball for CBS Sports since 2010. You may have heard him... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories
    CBS Sports Shop