Maxwell Collegiate Coach of the Year Award names 16 semifinalists

Jimbo Fisher has his Seminoles in line for a BCS Championship berth. (USATSI)
Jimbo Fisher has his Seminoles in line for a BCS Championship berth. (USATSI)
The Maxwell Football Club announced Wednesday its 16 semifinalists for its Collegiate Coach of the Year Award, selected by the Club's National Selection Committee.

There weren't many surprises, with seven out of the first eight names from Bruce Feldman's recent list of the top 10 Coach of the Year candidates making the cut. (Ball State's Pete Lembo was the one exception, with Fresno State's Tim DeRuyter and Northern Illinois's Rod Carey the only non-BCS coaches to make the Maxwell cut.)

The 16 candidates are: 

Nick Saban, Alabama Crimson Tide

Gus Malzahn, Auburn Tigers

Art Briles, Baylor Bears

Steve Addazio, Boston College Eagles

Dabo Swinney, Clemson Tigers

David Cutcliffe, Duke Blue Devils

Tim DeRuyter, Fresno State Bulldogs

Jimbo Fisher, Florida State Seminoles

Mark Dantonio, Michigan State Spartans

Gary Pinkel, Missouri Tigers

Rod Carey, Northern Illinois Huskies

Urban Meyer, Ohio State Buckeyes

Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State Cowboys

George O'Leary, UCF Knights

Ed Orgeron, Southern California Trojans

Gary Andersen, Wisconsin Badgers

After a round of voting to reduce the semifinalist pool to finalists, the winner will be announced Dec. 17.

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories