My 2014 College Football Hall of Fame ballot

(Notes: I do not have a CFHoF vote. The National Football Foundation's Honors Court decides the inductees. There are 75 FBS players and six coaches on this year’s ballot. Typically 11-12 players and one or two coaches are selected per year. However, there is no limit.

Candidates rise from eight geographical districts. Each district includes a 10-member committee. For example, the University of Miami’s district includes the states of Florida, Georgia, South Carolina and North Carolina. Players must at least be a first-team All-American on a team recognized by the NCAA. Thus, a player like Joe Montana can never be in the CFHoF but UCLA's Cade McNown can.

Players can be nominated by a coach, AD, SID for National Football Foundation member. Here are the rest of the voting criteria. These are my '14 hall of famers from this year's ballot.)



Tony Boselli, OT, USC – One of the most dominating tackles of the modern era. The two-time All-American was a three-time NFL All-Pro and was on the 1990s all-decade team.

Brian Bosworth, LB, Oklahoma – Penalized too long for his (at the time) brash attitiude and use of PEDs in college. Boz was a two-time consensus All-American and two-time Butkus Award winner (best linebacker).

Jerome Brown, DT, Miami -- All you need to know about Brown comes from this anecdote offered by former Miami assistant Butch Davis: "On Fridays we used to give them about 20 minutes to horse around, choose up sides and play touch football. It was all the skill guys. Jerome was the only lineman and he woujld cover Michael Irvin in the red zone. He was a freaky athlete. Literally, it was like a 220-pound guy trapped in a 310-pound body."

Brown's candidacy may have been hurt by a relatively short career. He was killed in a car wreck in 1992. Brown was a unanimous All-American and finalist for the Outland and Lombardi in 1986.

Shane Conlan, LB, Penn State – Second all-time in Penn State tackles. A key part of the 1986 championship team that upset Miami. All of PSU’s all-time greats.

Tom Cousineau, LB, Ohio State – Three-time all-Big Ten performer, still holds six school records. Played for Woody Hayes’ final Buckeye team in 1978 making 211 tackles.

Troy Davis, RB, Iowa State – Two-time Heisman finalist holds the NCAA record for most yards over two seasons (4,195). Big 12 player of the year in 1996 for a last-place team.

Charlie Gogolak, K, Princeton – the first kicker picked in the frst round of the NFL draft. Among the first soccer-style kickers. Only a 55 percent kicker in the pros, Gogolak made six field goals in one game at Princeton. He is considered a pioneer because Gogolak’s kicking style helped change the way the game was played.  

Rocket Ismail, WR/KR, Notre Dame – 1990 Heisman runner up. Two-time All-American whose potential game-winning punt return was called back in the 1990 Orange Bowl against Colorado. A clipping penalty ruined what would have an upset of the No. 1 Buffaloes. In 1989 Rocket returned two kicks for scores against Michigan. Former Grey Cup MVP in the CFL.

Rashaan Salaam, RB, Colorado – 1994 Heisman Trophy winner who led the nation in rushing, scoring and all-purpose yards. One of only a handful of players to rush for 2,000 yards in a season.

Warren Sapp, DT, Miami – Finished sixth 1994 Heisman voting as a d-lineman. That same year won Lombardi (best lineman), Nagurski (defensive player of the year) and was voted Big East POY. Distinguished NFL career.

Art Still, DE, Kentucky – Played on Kentucky’s last SEC title team (1976). SEC defensive player of the year in 1977 with a school-record 22 TFLs. Four-time Pro Bowler for the Kansas City Chiefs.

Derrick Thomas, LB, Alabama – 1988 SEC POY and Butkus Award winner. Considered one of the all-time best NFL speed rushers as a defensive end with the Chiefs. Tied for NCAA career leader in sacks with Arizona’s Tedy Bruschi, 52.

Ricky Williams, RB, Texas – 1998 Heisman winner and No. 2 career rushing leader (6,279 yards). His ’98 season showed that Texas was back under Mack Brown. Checkered pro career ended after the 2011 season.



Danny Ford, Clemson (1978-89), Arkansas (1993-97) – Ford had his issues off the field but as a coach he was a Southern gem. Among his five ACC titles is the 1981 national championship at Clemson. The Tigers have been chasing that standard ever since. Averaged more than eight wins per season in his 15 full seasons.



CBS Sports Senior Writer

Dennis Dodd has covered college football for CBS Sports since it was CBS SportsLine in 1998. He is one of only seven media members to attend all 16 BCS title games and has chronicled conference realignment... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories