Notre Dame's Brian Kelly wins 2012 Eddie Robinson Award

Brian Kelly is the Coach of the Year. (US Presswire)

Notre Dame coach Brian Kelly has been named the winner of the 2012 FWAA/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, the FWAA announced Thursday.

The third-year coach guided the Fighting Irish to their first undefeated season since 1988, their first No.-1 ranking since 1993 and their first berth in the BCS title game. 

Kelly won the award over eight other finalists. He is the fourth Notre Dame coach to receive the award following Ara Parseghian (1964), Lou Holtz (1988) and Charlie Weis (2005).

"It is with great pleasure the FWAA presents the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award to Brian Kelly," said 2012 FWAA president Lenn Robbins of the New York Post. "Notre Dame, under Coach Kelly, has returned to national prominence in the college football ranks. This award recognizes that accomplishment for the 2012 season, a season that began with 124 teams vying for an elusive undefeated campaign. Notre Dame was the only bowl-eligible school to accomplish that impressive feat."

Kelly can help Notre Dame to its first national title since 1988 with a win over Alabama in the BCS title game Jan. 7 in Miami.

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories