Price Per Win: College football's best and worst coaching bargains in 2016

Kansas coach David Beaty recently received a raise from $801,000 per year to $1.6 million, plus $100,000 raises each year through 2021. The bonuses are the most notable part of this extension for a 2-22 coach -- $50,000 for every FBS win and $100,000 for any Power Five win.

This, of course, begs the question: What is he doing to deserve the other $1.6 million? Wins agianst FCS teams? Nonetheless, we at Price Per Win appreciate Kansas' approach because it mirrors what we do each year.

What did a multimillion dollar contract buy major college football programs in 2016? Depending on the expectations, it bought a whole lot or not nearly enough.

Some of the best bargains: Minnesota's Tracy Claeys, Wisconsin's Paul Chryst, Clemson's Dabo Swinney, West Virginia's Dana Holgorsen, Colorado's Mike MacIntyre, Washington's Chris Petersen, Temple's Matt Rhule, South Florida's Willie Taggart and Western Michigan's P.J. Fleck.

Some bad bargains, at least for this year: Texas' Charlie Strong, Ole Miss' Hugh Freeze, Mississippi State's Dan Mullen, Michigan State's Mark Dantonio, Rutgers' Chris Ash, Virginia's Bronco Mendenhall, Arizona's Rich Rodriguez, Oregon's Mark Helfrich and UCLA's Jim Mora.

Below is a "Price Per Win" chart for the Power Five, the AAC (since it's paying more for coaches these days) and a handful of other Group of Five teams.

A coach's Price Per Win (PPW) takes his 2016 total compensation (as reported through the terrific database compiled by USA Today) and divides it by the number of games his team won this regular season. Bowl games are not counted. We do count a coach's record for the entire season even if he left the job early. The coach still got paid, so we're keeping the entire season with him.

Context is helpful for this chart. This shouldn't be viewed as a one-size-fits-all barometer of coaches. There are ebbs and flows to careers. Injuries are factors. Last year, Dantonio looked like one of the best bargains ($305,960 per win at Michigan State); this year he's at $1.4 million per win.

Coaches can be in different stages of their careers so they're paid higher or lower for different reasons, such as past results or future potential. (Side note: Players are in different stages of their careers too, but alas, they're not permitted by the NCAA to get paid so athletic department money has to get spent on something. Raises it is!)

Naturally, different schools have different capabilities of how much money they can spend. A high PPW number may be just fine for some schools, such as Michigan's Jim Harbaugh ($900,400 per win in a 10-win seasons). Alabama's Nick Saban looks like a bargain at $533,800 with a 13-0 record. Eight other SEC coaches have a higher PPW.

The SEC pays coaches so much -- and had only one team with at least nine wins -- that the league's lowest PPW (Vanderbilt's Derek Mason, $426,146) would rank seventh in the Big Ten and eighth in the ACC. This is another example of why the SEC says it just means more in its conference.

SEC Coach Price Per Win 2016 Record
Derek Mason, Vanderbilt $426,146 6-6
Will Muschamp, South Carolina $500,416 6-6
Mark Stoops, Kentucky $501,943 7-5
Butch Jones, Tennessee $513,750 8-4
Jim McElwain, Florida $533,541 8-4
Nick Saban, Alabama $533,800 13-0
Kirby Smart, Georgia $536,229 7-5
Barry Odom, Missouri $587,500 4-8
Gus Malzahn, Auburn $591,188 8-4
Bret Bielema, Arkansas $592,143 7-5
Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M $625,000 8-4
Les Miles, LSU* $626,510 7-4
Dan Mullen, Mississippi State $840,000 5-7
Hugh Freeze, Ole Miss $940,700 5-7
Big Ten Coach Price Per Win 2016 Record
Tracy Claeys, Minnesota $175,000 8-4
Paul Chryst, Wisconsin $270,620 10-3
Mike Riley, Nebraska $311,111 9-3
Kevin Wilson, Indiana* $386,667 6-6
DJ Durkin, Maryland $402,000 6-6
James Franklin, Penn State $409,091 11-2
Urban Meyer, Ohio State $554,073 11-1
Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern $558,440 6-6
Kirk Ferentz, Iowa $562,500 8-4
Lovie Smith, Illinois $603,060 3-9
Darrell Hazell, Purdue* $730,000 3-9
Jim Harbaugh, Michigan $900,400 10-2
Chris Ash, Rutgers $1,000,000 2-10
Mark Dantonio, Michigan State $1,433,333 3-9
ACC Coach Price Per Win 2016 Record
Larry Fedora, North Carolina $248,283 8-4
Dave Clawson, Wake Forest $352,194 6-6
Justin Fuente, Virginia Tech $355,556 9-4
Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech $360,795 8-4
Dabo Swinney, Clemson $368,558 12-1
Justin Fuente, Virginia Tech $355,556 9-4
Dave Doeren, NC State $366,667 6-6
Steve Addazio, Boston College $388,938 6-6
Bobby Petrino, Louisville $434,493 9-3
David Cutcliffe, Duke $580,193 4-8
Jimbo Fisher, Florida State $583,333 9-3
Bronco Mendenhall, Virginia $1,637,500 2-10
Salaries for Miami's Mark Richt, Syracuse's Dino Babers and Pittsburgh's Pat Narduzzi were not published.
Big 12 Coach Price Per Win 2016 Record
Dana Holgorsen, West Virginia $298,000 10-2
Bill Snyder, Kansas State $388,250 8-4
David Beaty, Kansas $400,555 2-10
Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State $419,444 9-3
Bob Stoops, Oklahoma $500,000 10-2
Kliff Kingsbury, Texas Tech $661,315 5-7
Matt Campbell, Iowa State $666,667 3-9
Gary Patterson, TCU $669,121 6-6
Charlie Strong, Texas* $1,040,026 5-7
Salary for Baylor's Jim Grobe was not published.
Pac-12 Coach Price Per Win 2016 Record
Mike MacIntyre, Colorado $201,145 10-3
Chris Petersen, Washington $300,487 12-1
Mike Leach, Washington State $368,750 8-4
Kyle Whittingham, Utah $456,250 8-4
David Shaw, Stanford $451,913 9-3
Kyle Whittingham, Utah $456,250 8-4
Sonny Dykes, California $581,600 5-7
Todd Graham, Arizona State $620,688 5-7
Gary Andersen, Oregon State $637,500 4-8
Mark Helfrich, Oregon* $828,175 4-8
Jim Mora, UCLA $862,500 4-8
Rich Rodriguez, Arizona $953,333 3-9
Salary for USC's Clay Helton was not published.
AAC Coach Price Per Win 2016 Record
Matt Rhule, Temple $104,174 10-3
Willie Taggart, South Florida $170,400 10-2
Ken Niumatalolo, Navy $222,222 9-4
Mike Norvell, Memphis $225,000 8-4
Scott Frost, UCF $283,333 6-6
Scottie Montgomery, East Carolina $333,333 3-9
Tom Herman, Houston $333,722 9-3
Tommy Tuberville, Cincinnati* $550,000 4-8
Bob Diaco, Connecticut $566,667 3-9
Salaries for Tulsa's Philip Montgomery, SMU's Chad Morris and Tulane's Willie Fritz were not published.
Other Coaches Price Per Win 2016 Record
Scott Satterfield, Appalachian State $58,333 9-3
P.J. Fleck, Western Michigan $63,105 13-0
Neal Brown, Troy $73,333 9-3
Jeff Brohm, Western Kentucky $80,872 10-3
Rocky Long, San Diego State $81,063 10-3
Blake Anderson, Arkansas State $100,000 7-5
Craig Bohl, Wyoming $113,625 8-5
Bryan Harsin, Boise State $130,000 10-2
Brian Kelly, Notre Dame $406,183 4-8
CBS Sports Senior Writer

Jon Solomon is CBS Sports's national college football writer. A former Alabama resident, he now lives in Maryland and also writes extensively on NCAA topics. Jon previously worked at The Birmingham News,... Full Bio

Our Latest Stories