Report: Playoff selection committee to include current ADs

The College Football Playoff selection committee is beginning to take shape.

According to a report from the Sporting News, the committee will include current athletic directors, former coaches and players and possibly former media members. While the total number of members isn't know, it's reported that one athletic director from each of the five power conferences -- ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12 and SEC -- will be represented. 

As for conflicts of interest, if an athletic director's school is being considered for the playoff, that athletic director will leave the room while the other members vote on that team.

It is not known how often the committee will meet or how often the committee will release a poll of the top teams in the country. 

In May, Bill Hancock, the executive director of the College Football Playoff, said "athletic directors are eligible now, but that could change." Apparently, it did not.

The first year of the College Football Playoff will be the 2014 season.

CBS Sports Writer

Tom Fornelli has been a college football writer at CBS Sports since 2010. During his time at CBS, Tom has proven time and again that he hates your favorite team and thinks your rival is a paragon of football... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories