Seferian-Jenkins, Colt Lyerla headline Mackey Award watch list

Oregon TE Colt Lyerla, a member of the 2013 Mackey Award watch list, is poised to break out in 2013. (USATSI)
Oregon's Colt Lyerla, a member of the 2013 Mackey Award watch list, is poised to break out in 2013. (USATSI)

Watch list season is officially upon us. Most of college football's individual awards will be releasing preseason watch lists throughout the next two weeks, wrapping up July 19 with the Walter Camp Award watch list.

The John Mackey Award, named for Pro Football Hall of Fame member John Mackey, is given annually to the "most outstanding collegiate tight end." The watch list is a starting point, with an updated midseason watch list released in October and the announcement of semifinalists on Nov. 18. The 2013 Mackey Award finalists will be announced on Nov. 25 and the winner will be presented live on Dec. 12 as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show. 

Washington Huskies tight end Austin Seferian-Jenkins was a 2nd team All-America selection in 2012, and considered by many to be one of the best tight ends currently in college football. Unfortunately, Seferian-Jenkins' status for 2013 is still up in the air as he remains suspended from team activities while a DUI case plays out. 

If you are looking for a sleeper pick, look no further than Washington's Pac-12 North rival Oregon Ducks . Junior Colt Lyerla showed glimpses of stardom in 2012, and he should be ready to break out in year two with quarterback Marcus Mariota. 

Check out the full list below. Remember, names can be added or removed from this list during the first weeks of the season. So there are no official "snubs" quite yet.

Rory Anderson , South Carolina Gamecocks
Alex Bayer , Bowling Green Falcons
Ted Bolser , Indiana Hoosiers
Kyle Carter , Penn State Nittany Lions
Gerald Christian , Louisville Cardinals
Chris Coyle , Arizona State Sun Devils
Nexon Dorvilus , Florida Atlantic Owls
Eric Ebron , North Carolina Tar Heels
Zane Fakes , Ball State Cardinals
C.J. Fiedorowicz , Iowa Hawkeyes
Kaneakua Friel , Brigham Young Cougars
Devin Funchess , Michigan Wolverines
Crockett Gillmore , Colorado State Rams
Xavier Grimble , Southern California Trojans
Jeff Heuerman , Ohio State Buckeyes State" data-canon="Ohio Bobcats" data-type="SPORTS_OBJECT_TEAM" id="shortcode0">
Gabe Holmes , Purdue Boilermakers
Gator Hoskins , Marshall Thundering Herd
Marcel Jensen , Fresno State Bulldogs
Malcolm Johnson , Mississippi State Bulldogs
Luke Kaumatule , Stanford Cardinal
Ben Koyack , Notre Dame Fighting Irish
Gabe Linehan , Boise State Broncos
Colt Lyerla , Oregon Ducks
Arthur Lynch , Georgia Bulldogs
Jake McGee , Virginia Cavaliers
Jake Murphy , Utah Utes
Jordan Najvar , Baylor Bears
Troy Niklas , Notre Dame Fighting Irish
Nick O'Leary , Florida State Seminoles
Jacob Pedersen , Wisconsin Badgers
Austin Seferian-Jenkins , Washington Huskies
Randall Telfer , Southern California Trojans
C.J. Uzomah , Auburn Tigers
Brian Vogler , Alabama Crimson Tide
Beckett Wales , Syracuse Orange
Clive Walford , Miami (Fla.) Hurricanes
Asa Watson , NC State Wolfpack

CBS Sports Writer

Chip Patterson has spent his young career covering college sports from the Old North State. He's been writing and talking about football and basketball for CBS Sports since 2010. You may have heard him... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories