This site uses cookies, tokens, and other third party scripts to recognize visitors of our sites and services, remember your settings and privacy choices, and — depending on your settings and privacy choices — enable us and some key partners to collect information about you so that we can improve our services and deliver relevant ads.

By continuing to use our site or clicking Accept, you agree that CBS and our key partners may collect data and use cookies for personalized ads and other purposes, as described more fully in our privacy policy. You can change your settings at any time by clicking Manage Settings.

No ad available

Trio of Hogs Accept Shrine Game Invites

(What's happening with the Arkansas Razorbacks? Make sure you're in the loop --- take five seconds to Sign up for our FREE Razorbacks newsletter now!)

Three Arkansas players have accepted invitations to play in the annual East-West Shrine Game, according to the game's website.

Offensive lineman Dan Skipper, defensive end Deatrich Wise Jr. and linebacker Brooks Ellis will play in the all-star game at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla., on Jan. 21.

Skipper is a fourth-year starter on the Razorbacks' offensive line, with 46 consecutive starts. He was a preseason first-team All-SEC selection and has been named the SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week twice this season.

Despite battling minor injuries most of the year, Wise is third on the team with 45 tackles and second on the team with 3.5 sacks. He also has five tackles for loss, three pass breakups, a forced fumble and a team-high seven quarterback hurries. Following the season-opening win over Louisiana Tech, he was named the SEC Defensive Lineman of the Week.

No ad available

Ellis is Arkansas' most experienced defender with 40 career starts, including 30 straight. He leads the Razorbacks with 78 tackles and seven tackles for loss, while also notching four pass breakups, three quarterback hurries, one sack and one interception, which he returned 47 yards for a touchdown. In his career, Ellis has 285 tackles and 22.5 tackles for loss.

The Fayetteville native is also a finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy, which is sometimes referred to as the "Academic Heisman."

These three will be the first Razorbacks to play in the game since Zach Hocker and Kiero Small in 2014. (AJ Derby went in 2015, but did not play because he was injured.)

Be sure to enjoy VIP access to Hawgs247 with our FREE trial until Jan. 1 promotional offer on our annual plan. A monthly plan is also available.

Our Latest Stories
No ad available