UCLA LB Barr, Alabama LB Mosley headline Bednarik semifinalists

Anthony Barr is one of 16 semifinalists for defensive player of the year. (USATSI)
Anthony Barr is one of 16 semifinalists for defensive player of the year. (USATSI)

While the Maxwell Award has repeat semifinalists from 2012, the semifinalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award, giving annually to the most outstanding defensive player in college football, are all making their first appearance on this list.

Both the Maxwell Award and Bednarik Award are selected by the Maxwell Football Club National Selection Committee. Last season, both awards were won by the same player -- Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o, now with the San Diego Chargers -- for the first time ever. No players will be eligible for such a distinction in 2013 as none of the Bedarik semifinalists listed below are also included on the Maxwell Award's list of semifinalists.

Six different conferences are represented in the group of 16 candidates, with five players coming from the ACC. Twelve of the players are seniors, and USC sophomore defensive end Leonard Williams is the only underclassman.

The winners will be named as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 12.

LB Anthony Barr, UCLA

DE Vic Beasley, Clemson

LB Chris Borland, Wisconsin

DT Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh

CB Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon

CB Kyle Fuller, Virginia Tech

DE Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas

CB Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State

LB Khalil Mack, Buffalo

LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama

LB Trent Murphy, Stanford

DE Michael Sam, Missouri

LB Ryan Shazier, Ohio State

LB Kyle Van Noy, BYU

DT Nikita Whitlock, Wake Forest

DE Leonard Williams, USC

CBS Sports Writer

Chip Patterson has spent his young career covering college sports from the Old North State. He's been writing and talking about football and basketball for CBS Sports since 2010. You may have heard him... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories
    CBS Sports Shop