Walter Camp Player of the Year Award Watch List released

LSU defensive back Tyrann Mathieu was a Walter Camp Player of the Year finalist in 2011 (US Presswire)

Watch list has arrived in college football. The annual individual awards given at the end of the season will be rolling out their initial lists over the next couple weeks, and college football fans get their first round of debatable distinctions for 2012.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year is awarded annually to a player from the Walter Camp All-American team, and is the nation's fourth-oldest college football honor for an individual. Eleven players on the 2012 watch list have previously earned Walter Camp All-America honors, and LSU Tigers defensive back Tyrann Mathieu was a finalist for the award in 2011.

The 2012 watch list includes three returning semi-finalists from a year ago: Matt Barkley , Landry Jones , and Sammy Watkins . Stanford Cardinal quarterback Andrew Luck was named the Player of the Year in an award ceremony in December.

Check out the full watch list below, and a breakdown by conference.

2012 Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List

Barrett Jones , OL, Alabama Crimson Tide
AJ McCarron , QB, Alabama
Knile Davis , RB, Arkansas Razorbacks
Tyler Wilson , QB, Arkansas
Ryan Aplin , QB, Arkansas State Red Wolves
Branden Oliver , RB, Buffalo Bulls
Keenan Allen , WR, Califorina
Tajh Boyd , QB, Clemson Tigers
Sammy Watkins, WR, Clemson
Sharif Floyd, DT, Florida Gators
Brandon Jenkins , Florida State Seminoles
Robbie Rouse , RB, Fresno State Bulldogs
Jarvis Jones , LB, Georgia Bulldogs
Aaron Murray , QB, Georgia
Charles Sims , RB, Houston Cougars
Arthur Brown , LB, Kansas Jayhawks State
Tyler Lockett , WR, Kansas State Wildcats
Nigel Malone , DB, Kansas State
Tyrann Matthieu, DB, LSU
Joe Vellano , DL, Maryland Terrapins
Denard Robinson , QB, Michigan Wolverines
William Gholston , DE, Michigan State Spartans
James Franklin , QB, Missouri Tigers
David Amerson , DB, N.C. State
Rex Burkhead , RB, Nebraska Cornhuskers
Tyler Eifert , TE, Notre Dame Fighting Irish
Manti Te'o , LB, Notre Dame
Tony Jefferson , DB, Oklahoma Sooners
Landry Jones, QB, Oklahoma
Kenny Stills , WR, Oklahoma
Joseph Randle , RB, Oklahoma State Cowboys
De'<player idref= , Wr, Oregon Ducks
Silas Redd , RB, Penn State Nittany Lions
Ray Graham , RB, Pittsburgh Panthers
Zach Line , RB, SMU
Jadeveon Clowney , DE, South Carolina Gamecocks
Marcus Lattimore , RB, South Carolina
Chase Thomas , LB, Stanford
Tyler Bray , QB, Tennessee Volunteers
Alex Okafor , DE, Texas Longhorns
Seth Doege , QB, Texas Tech Red Raiders
Matt Barkley, QB, USC
T.J. McDonald , DB, USC
Robert Woods , WR, USC
John White , RB, Utah Utes
Logan Thomas , Qb, Virginia Cavaliers Tech
Tavon Austin , WR, West Virignia
Geno Smith , QB, West Virginia Mountaineers
Alex Carder , QB, Western Michigan Broncos
Montee Ball , RB, Wisconsin Badgers

2012 Walter Camp Watch List by Conference
SEC - 12
Big 12 - 11
Pac-12 - 7
ACC - 6
Big Ten - 5
Independent - 2
Conference USA - 2
MAC - 2
Sun Belt - 1
Big East - 1
Mountain West Conference - 1

Remember, names can be added and will be taken off these award lists as the season progresses. But still feel free to let us know your feelings on the list in the comment section below.

Keep up with the latest college football news from around the country. From the opening kick of the year all the way through the offseason, has you covered with thisdaily newsletter. View apreview.

Get College Football updates on Facebook

CBS Sports Writer

Chip Patterson has spent his young career covering college sports from the Old North State. He's been writing and talking about football and basketball for CBS Sports since 2010. You may have heard him... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories