WATCH LIST: Maxwell Award finalist Jameis Winston leads 2014 list

Watch list week kicked off Monday, with the Maxwell Award, Bednarik Award and Paul Hornung Award all releasing preseason watch lists. We'll be posting at least one of these lengthy roll calls each day this week, getting our minds set for football seasons before conference media days get started later this month.

The Maxwell Award has been given to the player of the year in college football by the Maxwell Football Club since 1937. Last season it was given to Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron while Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston, the Heisman Trophy winner, was a finalist. 

The Crimson Tide are the most-represented team on the 76-player list with four selections. Florida State, Baylor , Oregon and USC all have three players on the player of the year watch list.

Check out the full list below, in alphabetical order, courtesy of the Maxwell Football Club: 

RB Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska
WR Nelson Agholor, USC
RB Jay Ajayi Boise, State
RB Javorius Allen, USC
WR Dres Anderson, Utah
QB Anthony Boone, Duke
WR Tyler Boyd, Pittsburgh
QB Jacoby Brissett, N.C. State
RB Malcolm Brown, Texas
QB Shane Carden, East Carolina
QB Rakeem Cato, Marshall
WR Sammie Coates Auburn
QB Jacob Coker, Alabama
WR Stacy Coley, Miami
RB Alex Collins, Arkansas
RB James Conner, Pittsburgh
QB Connor Cook, Michigan State
WR Amari Cooper, Alabama
WR Jamison Crowder, Duke
RB Mike Davis, South Carolina
WR DeVante Davis, UNLV
WR Stefon Diggs, Maryland
QB Jeff Driskel, Florida
QB Cody Fajardo, Nevada
RB D.J. Foster, Arizona State
WR Devin Funchess, Michigan
QB Devin Gardner, Michigan
QB Jared Goff, California
QB Everett Golson, Notre Dame
WR Antwan Goodley, Baylor
RB Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin
RB Johnathan Gray, Texas
WR Deontay Greenberry, Houston
WR Rashad Greene, Florida State
RB Todd Gurley, Georgia
QB Christian Hackenberg, Penn State
WR Justin Hardy, East Carolina
QB Taylor Heinicke, Old Dominion
RB Derrick Henry, Alabama
WR Austin Hill, Arizona
QB Taysom Hill, BYU
QB Kevin Hogan, Stanford
QB Brett Hundley, UCLA
QB Matt Johnson, Bowling Green
RB Duke Johnson, Miami
QB Chuckie Keeton, Utah State
QB Taylor Kelly, Arizona State
QB Cody Kessler, USC
QB Trevor Knight, Oklahoma
RB Jeremy Langford, Michigan State
RB Shock Linwood, Baylor
WR Tyler Lockett, Kansas State
QB Sean Mannion, Oregon State
RB Raymond Maples, Army
QB Marcus Mariota, Oregon
RB Venric Mark, Northwestern
RB Byron Marshall, Oregon
QB Nick Marshall, Auburn
QB Braxton Miller, Ohio State
WR Ty Montgomery, Stanford
QB John O’Korn, Houston
WR DeVante Parker, Louisville
QB Bryce Petty, Baylor
QB Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
QB Keenan Reynolds, Navy
WR Jaelen Strong, Arizona State
RB Thomas Tyner, Oregon
QB P.J. Walker, Temple
QB Bo Wallace, Ole Miss
QB Jake Waters, Kansas State
QB Davis Webb, Texas Tech
RB Jonathan Williams, Arkansas
RB Karlos Williams, Florida State
RB Jamaal Williams, BYU
QB Jameis Winston Florida State
RB T.J. Yeldon, Alabama  

CBS Sports Writer

Chip Patterson has spent his young career covering college sports from the Old North State. He's been writing and talking about football and basketball for CBS Sports since 2010. You may have heard him... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories