WATCH LIST: TEs Nick O'Leary, OJ Howard headline Mackey Award list

Watch Lists: Maxwell (player of the year) | Bednarik (defensive player) | More

Watch list week continued on Tuesday with the Rimington Award and Mackey Award each releasing preseason watch lists. We'll be posting at least one of these lengthy roll calls each day this week, getting our minds set for football seasons before conference media days get started later this month.

The John Mackey Award is given annually to the nation's best tight end. While the Rimington Award listed 66 centers on its watch list, the 38-player Mackey Award list is a bit more exclusive. 

Florida State tight end Nick O'Leary, Alabama tight end OJ Howard and Ohio State tight end Jeff Heuerman have the advantage of playing for national title contenders, but the depth at tight end position in 2014 will require as much production as attention to win the award in December. Throw in CJ Uzomah, Ben Koyack and Kent State's Casey Pierce (a dark horse) and you've got a competitive race for the nation's best tight end in 2014.

Check out the full list of tight ends below. Remember, names can be added to this list during the season.

Rory Anderson, South Carolina
Kennard Backman, UAB
Blake Bell, Oklahoma
EJ Bibbs, Iowa State
Pharaoh Brown, Oregon
Kyle Carter, Penn State
Kivon Cartwright, Colorado State
Gerald Christian, Louisville
Braxton Deaver, Duke
Thomas Duarte, UCLA
Luke Eakes, Northern Illinois
Evan Engram, Ole Miss
Billy Freeman, San Jose State
Darion Griswold, Arkansas State
Connor Hamlett, Oregon State
Hunter Henry, Arkansas
Mitchell Henry, WKU
Jeff Heuerman, Ohio State
Wyatt Houston, Utah State
OJ Howard, Alabama
Jesse James, Penn State
Malcolm Johnson, Mississippi State
Ben Koyack, Notre Dame
Tyler Kroft, Rutgers
Devin Mahina, BYU
Taylor McNamara, Oklahoma
Jimmy Mundine, Kansas
Johnny Mundt, Oregon
De’Marieya Nelson, Arizona State
Nick O’Leary, Florida State
Casey Pierce, Kent State
Sean Price, USF
Jay Rome, Georgia
Tyreese Russell, Eastern Michigan
Wes Saxton, South Alabama
Randall Telfer, USC
Eric Tomlinson, UTEP
CJ Uzomah, Auburn

CBS Sports Writer

Chip Patterson has spent his young career covering college sports from the Old North State. He's been writing and talking about football and basketball for CBS Sports since 2010. You may have heard him... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories