Louisiana-Monroe vs Mississippi

Mississippi 60, Louisiana-Monroe 38


OXFORD, Miss. (AP) - Terrance Henry scored 15 points as Mississippi won its eighth consecutive season opener with a 60-38 win over Louisiana-Monroe on Friday night.

Nick Williams added 13 points and Dundrecous Nelson had 12, as the Rebels limited their opponent to its lowest scoring output since a 71-38 win over Arkansas Pine Bluff in December, 2002.

Fred Brown led Louisiana-Monroe with seven points, but managed only 2-of-12 from the field. The Warhawks finished 14-of-49 (29 percent) from the field and had only four field goals in the first half.

Louisiana-Monroe led only once, 3-0, on a three-point shot by Brown in the opening minute. Ole Miss answered with a 16-2 run in the next four minutes, capped by a layup from Nelson, which built what turned out to be an insurmountable lead.

Ole Miss led 33-11 at halftime, led by Williams with 10 points. Louisiana-Monroe never got closer than 16 points, 49-33 with 5:14 left. R.J. McCray, in a reserve role, finished with six points, four rebounds and a steal for the Warhawks.

Murphy Holloway and Reginald Buckner helped dominate the boards for the Rebels, who finished with a 48-34 rebound edge. Holloway grabbed 17 rebounds and Buckner added 10. The duo also added two blocked shots apiece.

The contest marked the return of Holloway to the Ole Miss lineup, after being ruled eligible last week by the NCAA. Holloway started two seasons for the Rebels before transferring to South Carolina, where he spent last season as a redshirt. Holloway returned to Ole Miss after last season.

Ole Miss forced 18 turnovers, compensating for a 19-of-57 (33 percent) shooting performance. The Rebels struggled from three-point range, hitting 5-of-26 (19 percent).

Copyright 2018 by STATS LLC and The Associated Press. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC and The Associated Press is strictly prohibited.
Louisiana-Monroe (0-1)112738
Mississippi (1-0) «332760

Related Video


CBSSports Shop

Men's Nike White Villanova Wildcats 2016 NCAA Men's Basketball National Champions Locker Room T-Shirt

Villanova Wildcats 2016 National Champs
Get the Locker Room Gear!
Shop Now

Louisiana-Monroe Warhawks
C. Bibi Ndongo, F211-32-65024
F. Ribeiro, C292-71-26145
F. Brown, G252-122-41117
C. Winborne, G232-61-22336
H. Mingo, G181-50-00042
T. Lindsey301-41-24033
T. Mackey222-70-05215
R. McCray173-30-24016
M. Hansberry150-20-01410
Totals 14-497-1834112038
Mississippi Rebels
M. Holloway, F322-42-517006
T. Henry, F263-109-1343215
R. Buckner, F202-32-210126
N. Williams, G315-111-131113
D. Nelson, G214-112-210412
J. Summers272-90-02345
D. Cox171-20-24002
M. Aniefiok150-61-22011
A. Jones110-10-02020
Totals 19-5717-274881660
Sun Belt
TeamConf. W-LTot. W-LRPI Rank
Texas St.6-113-7245
Ga. Southern5-114-5124
Georgia St.4-213-6178
S. Alabama3-310-9242
App. St.3-38-11239
Little Rock2-45-14271
Arkansas St.1-56-13317
Coast. Car.1-67-13266

TeamConf. W-LTot. W-LRPI Rank
S. Carolina3-312-650
Ole Miss3-310-894
Miss. State2-314-475
Texas A&M1-512-636
Other games
UTMA 48 Final
Louisville 83
ALB 56 Final
Morg St 63 Final
XAV 74
CLMB 57 Final
UConn 70
JAST 59 Final
Florida 99
MRST 58 Final
Kentucky 108
FERRIS 33 Final
Michigan 59
Mich St 55 Final
NC 67
NORFL 44 Final
Alabama 64
SE Mo St 68 Final
Missouri 83
Towson 54 Final
Kansas 100
Mt St Mry 37 Final
MU 91
Belmont 76 Final
Wright St 42 Final
Ohio St 73
Oregon 64 Final
Texas So 57 Final
Baylor 77
Cal Irvine 56 Final
California 77
LMU 69 Final
E Wash 69 Final