California vs Oregon State

Oregon St. 92, California 85


CORVALLIS, Ore. (AP) - Jared Cunningham and Ahmad Starks had 24 points apiece Thursday as Oregon State held off a late California run for a 92-85 win.

Angus Brandt added 14 points and Joe Burton 13 for Oregon State (11-4, 1-2 Pac-12). Jorge Gutierrez had 26 points for Cal (12-4, 2-1).

Oregon State took the lead for good, 40-38, on Cunningham's two free throws 11 seconds after halftime.

A Starks 3-pointer later put the Beavers ahead seven, and Oregon State got the lead to 10 for the first time, 60-50, on two more Cunningham foul shots with 12:23 remaining.

The Beavers went ahead by as many as 16 before Cal scored 12 straight, including two 3-pointers by Allen Crabbe and a four-point play by Gutierrez, to close within 77-73 with five minutes left.

But the Beavers scored the next four and the Golden Bears got no closer than six the rest of the way.

Copyright 2017 by STATS LLC and The Associated Press. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC and The Associated Press is strictly prohibited.
California (12-4)384785
Oregon State (11-4) «385492

Related Video


CBSSports Shop

Men's Nike White Villanova Wildcats 2016 NCAA Men's Basketball National Champions Locker Room T-Shirt

Villanova Wildcats 2016 National Champs
Get the Locker Room Gear!
Shop Now

California Golden Bears
D. Kravish, F334-62-243210
H. Kamp, F302-43-43057
J. Gutierrez, G3810-193-334426
A. Crabbe, G375-113-462116
J. Cobbs, G298-122-425418
B. Smith160-01-20311
R. Solomon111-13-41025
R. Thurman51-10-00002
E. Murray10-00-00000
Totals 31-5417-2324171985
Oregon State Beavers
J. Burton, F295-73-345413
E. Moreland, F273-51-24127
A. Brandt, C375-81-210114
A. Starks, G348-143-432224
J. Cunningham, G306-810-1215424
R. Nelson202-41-23316
D. Collier182-30-03234
K. McShane30-00-00110
C. Barton10-00-00000
C. Mitchell10-00-00000
Totals 31-4919-2523191892
Pac 10
TeamConf. W-LTot. W-L
Washington St.9-922-13
Oregon St.5-1311-20
Arizona St.4-1412-19
Other games
PEP 45 Final
Michigan 71 Final
Indiana 73
UNLV 89 Final
SDCC 52 Final