Longwood vs UNC-Asheville

Longwood 87, UNC Asheville 72


CONWAY, S.C. (AP) - Tristan Carey had 21 points and a career-best six steals as Longwood began its first Big South Conference tournament Tuesday by knocking off two-time defending champion UNC Asheville 87-72.

Carey scored 17 points and had all six steals in the first half, when the Lancers (8-24), the North Division's No. 6 seed, grabbed a 47-35 lead.

The Bulldogs (16-16), the No. 3 South seed, got to within 71-68 with 3:41 remaining on a layup by Jeremy Atkinson, who finished with 19 points and 11 rebounds. But the Lancers responded with a 9-0 run, started by a three-point play by Michael Kessens.

Lucas Woodhouse had 17 points and seven assists and Karl Ziegler scored a career-high 17 points off the bench for Longwood, which has won five of eight and will play Virginia Military Institute on Thursday.

Keith Hornsby had 14 points and five assists for UNC Asheville.

Copyright 2017 by STATS LLC and The Associated Press. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC and The Associated Press is strictly prohibited.
Longwood (8-24) «474087
NC-Asheville (16-16)353772

Related Video


CBSSports Shop

Men's Nike White Villanova Wildcats 2016 NCAA Men's Basketball National Champions Locker Room T-Shirt

Villanova Wildcats 2016 National Champs
Get the Locker Room Gear!
Shop Now

Longwood Lancers
M. Kessens, F283-63-310049
J. Dublin, F252-34-45038
L. Woodhouse, G405-116-657217
D. Robinson, G394-93-432015
T. Carey, G329-200-021421
K. Ziegler274-89-943117
J. Havenstein90-00-05020
Totals 27-5725-2638131687
UNC-Asheville Bulldogs
J. Atkinson, F409-210-2111419
W. Weeks, F334-103-581311
J. Nwannunu, F253-65-550111
K. Hornsby, G354-156-755314
T. Meyer, G242-60-02124
C. Littlejohn211-52-23035
S. Hughes162-61-24045
D. Cunningham61-31-22023
Totals 26-7218-254182272
Big South
TeamConf. W-LTot. W-LRPI Rank
High Point9-915-16235
Char. So.7-1112-19295
Other games
VT 57 Final
SJU 40 Final
ND 66
MU 60 Final
RUT 54
TCU 68 Final
KSU 79
OHST 67 Final
IND 58
MEMP 56 Final