Winthrop vs Radford

Winthrop 60, Radford 58


CONWAY, S.C. (AP) - Joab Jerome scored 22 points and led a comeback in overtime by Winthrop, which defeated Radford 60-58 Tuesday in the Big South Conference tournament's opening game.

Jerome's layup with 2 seconds remaining won it for the Eagles (14-16), the South Division's fifth seed, who trailed 57-52 just over a minute into overtime.

A steal by Jerome, who fed Reggie King for a layup, cut Winthrop's deficit to 57-56 with 2:44 remaining. After Javonte Green's free throw gave the Highlanders (13-19) a two-point lead, a layup by Jerome at the 1:09 mark tied it.

Rashun Davis began the second half with eight consecutive points to give Radford, the North's fourth seed, a 31-29 lead, and neither team led by more than four points for the rest of regulation.

Davis led Radford with 18 points and Green added 13.

Jerome also had 12 rebounds for Winthrop, which plays Charleston Southern on Thursday.

Copyright 2018 by STATS LLC and The Associated Press. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC and The Associated Press is strictly prohibited.
Winthrop (14-16) «2923860
Radford (13-19)2329658

Related Video


CBSSports Shop

Men's Nike White Villanova Wildcats 2016 NCAA Men's Basketball National Champions Locker Room T-Shirt

Villanova Wildcats 2016 National Champs
Get the Locker Room Gear!
Shop Now

Winthrop Eagles
J. Jerome, F4210-182-2123222
J. Bourne, F211-21-22033
R. King, G414-82-260411
A. Smith, G362-115-63039
G. Gamble, G322-90-04014
S. Johnson214-80-05139
L. Brown140-00-00040
C. Farmer120-30-02000
S. Diop60-02-41002
Totals 23-5912-163842060
Radford Highlanders
J. Green, F323-137-1051313
K. Noreen, F312-21-24126
B. Holcomb, F221-20-02132
R. Davis, G365-118-851318
R. Price, G321-60-01422
Y. Anderson252-50-00006
K. Brown170-25-61025
J. Carethers172-40-04004
B. Smith90-00-01000
L. Dyer41-10-20002
Totals 17-4621-282681558
Big South
TeamConf. W-LTot. W-LRPI Rank
High Point4-39-9258
Char. So.1-66-12328
Other games
VT 57 Final
SJU 40 Final
ND 66
MU 60 Final
RUT 54
TCU 68 Final
KSU 79
OHST 67 Final
IND 58
MEMP 56 Final