Conference Races

Below is a list of the 11 conference races around the nation, along with each individual conference tiebreaker rules. Each conference has a winner or championship game matchup based on "if the season ended today." (x-clinched division; y-clinched share of conference; z-clinched conference) -- Updated Dec. 5

ACC Championship

Dec. 5
Tampa, Fla.
8 p.m., ESPN

Georgia Tech
Comment: According to conference tiebreakers rules -- For a two-team tie: 1) Head-to-head competition between the two tied teams. With Clemson's 25-7 victory over Boston College earlier in the year, the Tigers have clinched the Atlantic. In the Coastal, Georgia Tech clinched the division.

Boston College5-38-4
x-Georgia Tech7-110-2
Virginia Tech6-29-3
Big 12 Championship

Dec. 5
Arlington, Texas
8 p.m., ABC

Comment: According to conference rules -- For a two-team tie: 1) The winner of the game between the two tied teams shall be the representative. In the North, with Nebraska's win over Kansas State, the Cornhuskers clinched a spot in the conference title game. In the South, Texas clinched a spot with win over Kansas. The last game doesn't matter because the Longhorns beat Oklahoma State earlier in the year.
Kansas State4-46-6
Oklahoma State6-29-3

Big East

Comment: With Cincinnati's 45-44 thrilling victory over Pittsburgh, the Bearcats have clinched the Big East conference and the automatic berth to a BCS Bowl.

West Virginia5-29-3
Big Ten

Ohio State
Comment: According to conference rules, if there is a tie for the Big Ten champion, the winner of the game between these two teams shall represent the conference in the BCS. With Ohio State's win over Iowa and Penn State, the Buckeyes have clinched a spot in the Rose Bowl.

z-Ohio State7-110-2
Penn State6-210-2

Conference USA Championship

East Carolina
Dec. 5
Greenville, N.C.
Noon, ESPN

Comment: With Houston's win over Rice on Saturday, the Cougars advance to the C-USA Championship game. Houston and SMU are tied, but Houston defeated SMU 38-15 earlier in the year. If Houston wins it clinches the West Division, if it loses, SMU clinches and head's the C-USA title game. In the East, East Carolina clinches the division with a 25-20 victory over Southern Mississippi.

x-East Carolina7-18-4
MAC Championship

Dec. 4
Detroit, Mich.
8 p.m., ESPN2

Central Michigan
Comment: In a two-team tie, head-to-head competition is used to determine which teams advance to the title game. Ohio defeated Temple 35-17 on Friday, so the Bobcats will advance to the title game. With its victory over Ball State and Northern Illinois' loss to Ohio, Central Michigan has clinched the West.

x-Central Michigan8-010-2
Northern Illinois5-37-5

Mountain West

Comment: According to conference rules, the regular season champion shall be determined based on conference winning percentage. With a victory over Wyoming, the Horned Frogs have clinched the conference. Since it beat Utah and BYU, it holds all tiebreakers.


Comment: With Oregon's 37-33 victory over Oregon State, the Ducks clinched the conference and earned the automatic bid to the Rose Bowl.

Oregon State6-38-4

Sun Belt

Comment: According to Sun Belt rules, in the event of a two-way tie for first place, the first tiebreaker is head-to-head. Troy has already beaten Middle Tennessee State, so the Trojans have won their fourth consecutive conference title.
Middle Tennessee State7-19-3
Western Athletic

Boise State
Comment: If two teams are tied, the winner of the regular season game between the tied teams shall receive the higher place in the standings. With Boise State's 44-33 win over Nevada, the Broncos have claimed another WAC title.
z-Boise State7-012-0

SEC Championship

Dec. 5
Atlanta, Ga.
4 p.m., CBS

Comment: According to SEC rules, in a two-team tie, head-to-head competition between the two tied teams will determine who plays in the conference title game. The second tiebreaker is the records of the tied teams within the division. With Florida's undefeated record in conference play, it has already clinched the East Division. With Alabama's victory over LSU, the Crimson Tide clinched the West.