Middle Tennessee at Arkansas State

Arkansas St. 45, Middle Tennessee 0


JONESBORO, Ark. (AP) - Ryan Aplin broke his own Arkansas State record for passing touchdowns in a season and the Red Wolves captured their second straight Sun Belt Conference championship with a 45-0 victory over Middle Tennessee on Saturday.

Aplin completed 19 of 21 passes for 238 yards and three touchdowns - giving him 22 TDs to break the mark of 21 he set last season.

Arkansas State (9-3, 7-1) and Middle Tennessee (8-4, 6-2) came into the game tied for first place in the conference, but this quickly turned into a mismatch as Aplin threw two TD passes and also rushed for a 4-yard score en route to a 35-0 halftime lead.

David Oku rushed for 102 yards and a TD for the Red Wolves, giving him 1,024 yards for the season. Arkansas State, which won its seventh straight, had 512 yards of offense to just 203 for the Blue Raiders.

Copyright 2017 by STATS LLC and The Associated Press. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC and The Associated Press is strictly prohibited.

Related Video

Scoring Summary
ARKSTRyan Aplin 4 yd run (Brian Davis kick)
ARKSTDavid Oku 9 yd run (Brian Davis kick)
ARKSTJosh Jarboe 6 yd pass from Ryan Aplin (Brian Davis kick)
ARKSTJulian Jones 59 yd pass from Ryan Aplin (Brian Davis kick)
ARKSTRocky Hayes 12 yd run (Brian Davis kick)
ARKSTKedric Murry 6 yd pass from Ryan Aplin (Brian Davis kick)
ARKSTBrian Davis 21 yd FG
Team Stats
First Downs1226
Third Down Efficiency6-1310-13
Fourth Down Efficiency2-31-1
Plays-Net Yards55-20368-512
Passing Yds114238
Kick Return Yds670
Punt Return Yds-55
Time of Poss.25:4534:15
Individual Stats
MTSU: Jordan Parker 18-73, Logan Kilgore 1-15, Drayton Calhoun 5-2, Jeremiah Bryson 3-2, Corey Carmichael 1-1, Reggie Whatley 1--4
ARKST: David Oku 19-102, Ryan Aplin 6-64, Rocky Hayes 12-52, Fredi Knighten 7-45, Michael Gordon 1-11, Sirgregory Thornton 2-0
MTSU: Logan Kilgore 15-26-114-2
ARKST: Ryan Aplin 19-21-238-0
MTSU: Anthony Amos 4-32, Kyle Griswould 4-32, Vincent Van Horne 3-40, Jordan Parker 2-5, Harold Turner 1-3, Jeremiah Bryson 1-2
ARKST: J.D. McKissic 8-60, Taylor Stockemer 3-50, Josh Jarboe 2-15, David Oku 2-10, Julian Jones 1-59, R.J. Fleming 1-25, Carlos McCants 1-13, Kedric Murry 1-6
Middle Tennessee3rd Conference USA East5-38-5
Arkansas State1st Sun Belt 7-18-5

CBSSports Shop