American Pharoah completes the Triple Crown, wins Belmont Stakes

American Pharoah has done it. He blew away the field on Saturday in the Belmont Stakes, going wire-to-wire to win the race and claim the first Triple Crown title since Affirmed in 1978, ending a 37-year drought.

Triple Crown winners
Year Horse
2015 American Pharoah
1978 Affirmed
1977 Seattle Slew
1973 Secretariat
1948 Citation
1946 Assault
1943 Count Fleet
1941 Whirlaway
1937 War Admiral
1935 Omaha
1930 Gallant Fox
1919 Sir Barton

Jockey Victor Espinoza took three tries, but finally claimed the Triple Crown.

He is the first Mexican-born jockey to win the Triple Crown and oldest jockey to complete the feat.

Where many in the past had failed, Pharoah broke the mold and wasn't really pushed at the end of the race, pulling away from the field by five and a half lengths. 

"He (American Pharoah) does everything so easy. ... He moves like a Ferrari," owner Ahmed Zayat said. "Today is about American Pharoah, and what he means to our beautiful sport."

Trainer Bob Baffert, who came up just short of the Triple Crown multiple times, was breathing a sigh of relief after the race.

"I was really beginning to dislike the Triple Crown," Baffert said. "I told Victor in the paddock, 'Go ahead and ride him, he's ready. That little horse, he deserves it."

"I don't think it's sunk in yet," Zayat said. "We won an unbelievable race in my own state. I have been extremely confident all week. I looked at my wife in the post parade and I told her get ready to be the owner of the 12th Triple Crown winner. He looked unbelievable: focused, relaxed, full of energy."

American Pharoah completed the Triple Crown on Saturday, winning the Belmont Stakes. (USATSI)
American Pharoah completed the Triple Crown on Saturday, winning the Belmont Stakes. (USATSI)
Our Latest Stories
    24/7 Scores, News, Highlights