D.A. Points disqualified for using green spongy ball

D.A. Points' week at Pebble Beach is over. (Getty Images)
D.A. Points' week at Pebble Beach is over. (Getty Images)

More Golf: Leaderboard | Rankings | Schedule | Equipment | FedEx Cup | Masters

This has to be maddening for D.A. Points.

The 2011 Pebble Beach Pro-Am champion was disqualified Friday evening for "using a green spongy ball on the course." 

Except that he didn't play any golf with it. Points took the ball out of his bag while waiting on the 18th hole on Friday, put it under his arm, and practiced his swing. 

That's it.

It was caught on tape by a spectator (spectators!) and Points was found in violation of rule 14-3: using an artificial device or unusual equipment.

Points was stunned at the ruling. He told Golf Channel he had no idea he'd broken a rule.

"We were standing on the tee; it's cold, it's raining, Points said. "I pull out the ball and make some dry practice swings, just trying to loosen up. I come to find out it's an unusual training device, something you wouldn't have in your bag."

But he also took full responsibility.

"It's my fault for not knowing the rule and I own up to that," he said. "But I don't want people thinking I was using some sort of contraption or device. It's just a green spongy ball. That's it. It's not something they sell online or anything."

It's a rule, for sure, but it probably shouldn't be.

Points was T60 at the time.

For more golf news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnGolf and @KylePorterCBS on Twitter or Google+ and like us on Facebook.

CBS Sports Writer

Kyle Porter began his sports writing career with CBS Sports in 2012. He covers golf, writes poetry about Rory McIlroy's swing, stays ready on Tiger watch and loves the Masters more than anyone you know.... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories