Jeff Overton disqualified from Colonial after use of putting aid

Jeff Overton was disqualified halfway through third-round play at the Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial on Saturday in Fort Worth, Texas after he illegally used a putting aid while waiting to tee off at No. 10.

Play had been backed up due to a weather delay, and Overton said an official had told him it was OK to practice chipping and putting on a nearby practice green.

Overton tweeted: “3 group back up at the turn. Rules official tells me we can practice chipping and putting. Disqualified for using my practice putting aid!”

Clearly frustrated, Overton then tweeted, “Why do rules officials initiate that conversation to begin with. I wouldn’t have even gone up there if I had known that. What a joke!”

Using the practice area is allowed, but PGA rules prohibit using a putting aid. Overton was 4 under at the time and seven strokes off the lead. 

Rules official Mark Russell said the rule is “clear as day,” per the Associated Press. Russell was alerted of the violation by another player.

Another rules official informed Overton of the disqualification just after he had teed off at No. 11. 

Overton also tweeted, “Tough break today. Looks like I gotta go back and rememorize a couple hundred pages of the usga rules book!” 

For more, follow Mike Singer on Twitter @RealMikeSinger. 

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories