Muirfield history stocked with legendary winners

Ernie Els is one of the many legends to win at Muirfield. (USATSI)
Ernie Els is one of the many legends to win at Muirfield. (USATSI)

More Golf: Leaderboard | Rankings | Schedule | Expert Picks | Equipment | FedEx Cup

Golf's majors obviously lend themselves to the stars of the game winning their events. But you also get the occasional Todd Hamilton or Michael Campbell -- no-name golfers who don't do much before or after.

Muirfield, site of the 2013 British Open, is different, though. You'd better be a historically great golfer if you're thinking about winning here. 

Here's a look at the list of winners at Muirfield with total majors in parentheses:

2002 -- Ernie Els (4)
1992 -- Nick Faldo (6)
1987 -- Nick Faldo (6)
1980 -- <a href= (8)
1972 -- <a href= (6)
1966 -- Jack Nicklaus (18)
1959 -- Gary Player (9)
1948 -- Henry Cotton (3)
1935 -- Alf Perry (1)
1929 -- Walter Hagen (11)
1912 -- Ted Ray (2)
1906 -- James Braid (5)
1901 -- James Braid (5)
1896 -- Harry Vardon (7)
1892 -- Harold Hilton (7)

That's 87 total majors by your 13 British Open winners at Muirfield.

Only Alf Perry has fewer than two majors, and only he, Ted Ray and Henry Cotton have fewer than four. Perry actually finished T3 at the 1939 Open, the last before it was cancelled for the war.

The lesson for this year, as it is for most British Opens, is you'd better know what you're doing or you're going to be out of the hunt in a hurry.

Since World War II, basically only legends have won Muirfield.

I can't wait to see who's next.

For more golf news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnGolf and @KylePorterCBS on Twitter or Google+ and like us on Facebook.

CBS Sports Writer

Kyle Porter began his sports writing career with CBS Sports in 2012. He covers golf, writes poetry about Rory McIlroy's swing, stays ready on Tiger watch and loves the Masters more than anyone you know.... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories