Tiger Woods shoots 72 after someone reports penalty
Tiger Woods' 70 turned into a 72 after he was assessed a two-stroke penalty after his second round at the BMW Championship.
Welp, we're back here again.
Tiger Woods shot what he thought was a 1-under 70 on Friday at the BMW Championship but was alerted that he actually shot a 1-over 72 after a two-stroke penalty that was brought to officials' attention two holes after his first hole of the day.
Here's a look at the details:
Hold everything...details are sparse but looks like TW got a 2-shot penalty on 1. 6 becomes an 8, 70 becomes 72. Yikes. #AugustaFlashback— GC Tiger Tracker (@GCTigerTracker) September 13, 2013
Tiger's ruling was called in when he was on 3rd or 4th hole, according to rules official. Ball moved, he didn't replace, 2 shots.— Bob Harig (@BobHarig) September 13, 2013
Tiger didn't speak to reporters afterward, but it appears he did not agree with the ruling. Didn't sign card until after shown video.— Bob Harig (@BobHarig) September 13, 2013
After further review Slugger White (a rules official, and what a name!) said a freelance videographer had videoed Woods behind the first green moving a loose impediment which caused the ball to move.
Rules officials reviewed the tape and determined the ball did, in fact, move.
"He thought it just oscillated and that's why he didn't do anything else. We showed him the video. The video did in fact show the ball moved. "
White said Woods didn't put up any argument but noted that he wasn't real thrilled either.
"[He was] very frustrated."
Woods actually played pretty well after his first hole, shooting 3 under on the other 17. Here's a look at his scorecard which has that ugly-looking snowman on the first:
The silver lining in all of this? Because of the penalty it looks like Woods will be paired with, you guessed it, Sergio Garcia on Saturday.
In a big-purse, star-studded field, who will prevail at the first Korean event ever?
As France prepares for the 2018 Ryder Cup, Jim Furyk and Thomas Bjorn show off their accur...
To get things done at Augusta National, Ridley said you can't care who gets the credit
Woods has not played a full tournament since missing the cut at the 2017 Farmers Insurance...
He's one of the best quotes in the golf world, and he didn't disappoint in Malaysia
The No. 7 player in the world had a busy weekend in Stillwater