Viewer calls about Sergio Garcia, rules officials say no penalty
Sergio Garcia might have cheated Friday, according to a television viewer, but rules officials say he didn't.
It happened again Friday at the Wells Fargo Championship when a viewer called Quail Hollow on a potential Sergio Garcia penalty.
On the 17th hole Garcia marked his ball to the side of Bill Haas' putting line and when he moved it back a viewer reasoned that Garcia didn't place it exactly where it had been to begin with.
Here's what Garcia told the Charlotte Observer:
"I thought I put it as close as I could, obviously, with the coin still behind the ball. It looked like it might have moved a tiny bit, but the rules officials felt that obviously I didn't gain anything by it. There are a lot of times that you try to put it in exactly the same spot, but it's difficult to do, not just for me, but for everyone."
Garcia went on to say he would rather take the penalty than be labeled a cheater. However, rules officials met with him after his round to watch the replay and determined there was no penalty.
This is actually how the Woods ruling should have happened but it didn't because Masters officials thought they had it under control.
The whole "call in to the tournament to make sure a golfer is following the rules" thing could spiral out of control in a hurry if PGA Tour officials don't rein it in. I'm all for fair play but we don't need 300 million rules officials ruling the tour.
The next season of golf has a real chance to be one of the best any of us has ever seen
This season will fascinate as old stars converge with up-and-coming superstars
With a single golf lesson up for auction, Tiger Woods changed some lives forever in Texas this...
The Days have had a rough 2017 from beginning to end
Why in the world would a former FedEx Cup winner hop on 24 hours worth of flights this wee...
Following the debacle at the ANA Inspiration earlier in 2017, Thompson has some thoughts