Why Matt Kuchar won't repeat at the Players Championship

Matt Kuchar will try to defend at the Players Championship. (Getty Images)
Matt Kuchar will try to defend at the Players Championship. (Getty Images)

More Golf: Leaderboard | Rankings | Schedule | Expert Picks | Equipment | FedEx Cup

Matt Kuchar will be fighting a lot of history as he tries to repeat at the 2013 Players Championship. Like, 40 years worth of history. 

The Players Championship started in 1974, and Jack Nicklaus won every other year for the first five tournaments. Since then only four people have won it more than once -- Fred Couples, Steve Elkington, Hal Sutton and Davis Love III. And nobody has repeated.

Recent history has not been kind to defending champions, either. Let's look at how the last 10 have fared in their title defenses:

K.J. Choi (2012) -- Missed cut
Tim Clark (2011) -- W/D
Henrik Stenson (2010) -- Missed cut
Sergio Garcia (2009) -- T22
Phil Mickelson (2008) -- T21
Stephen Ames (2007) -- Missed cut
Fred Funk (2006) -- T16
Adam Scott (2005) -- T8
Davis Love III (2004) -- T33
Craig Perks (2003) -- T17

As you can see, three of the last six golfers to win at Sawgrass have missed the cut the year after. Kuchar has played really well this year, but he's fighting an uphill battle here. 

For more golf news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnGolf and @KylePorterCBS on Twitter and like us on Facebook.

CBS Sports Writer

Kyle Porter began his sports writing career with CBS Sports in 2012. He covers golf, writes poetry about Rory McIlroy's swing, stays ready on Tiger watch and loves the Masters more than anyone you know.... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories