2013 'Fielding Bible' awards announced

Is Dustin Pedroia among the Fielding Bible Award winners for 2013? (USATSI)
Is Dustin Pedroia among the Fielding Bible Award winners for 2013? (USATSI)

MORE: Game-ending radio calls of Games 3, 4 | 2013 Gold Glove finalists

In case you haven't heard of the Fielding Bible Awards, they're annual citations for outstanding defense and an alternative to the more established Gold Gloves. While the Gold Glove will contain an analytical/sabermetric component to the selection process this time around, the Fielding Bible Awards are determined by a heavyweight panel of experts that's generally inclined toward using advanced defensive metrics as a guide.

If you're interested in knowing more about the Fielding Bible selection process, then this link is a useful resource. Also, it's worth noting that the Fielding Bible hands out awards for only one fielder at each position -- i.e., they don't name one for each league. 

With that out of the way, here are your Fielding Bible Award winners for the 2013 season ... 

C - Yadier Molina , St. Louis Cardinals

1B - Paul Goldschmidt , Arizona Diamondbacks

2B - Dustin Pedroia , Boston Red Sox

3B - Manny Machado , Baltimore Orioles

SS - Andrelton Simmons , Atlanta Braves

LF - Alex Gordon , Kansas City Royals

CF - Carlos Gomez , Milwaukee Brewers

RF - Gerardo Parra , Diamondbacks

P - R.A. Dickey , Toronto Blue Jays

Strong choices across the board, including a pair of defenders who will square off in Game 5 of the World Series on Monday night. 

Show Comments Hide Comments