2014 MLB schedule: Dodgers-Diamondbacks to open in Australia

Paul Goldschmidt and Clayton Kershaw will lead their teams for two opening games in Australia.
Paul Goldschmidt and Clayton Kershaw will lead their teams for two opening games in Australia. (USATSI)

More MLB: Scoreboard | Standings | Probable Pitchers | Sortable Stats | Odds

Tuesday afternoon, Major League Baseball unveiled the tentative schedule for the 2014 season, headlined by the early opener in the land down under.

The Los Angeles Dodgers and Arizona Diamondbacks will square off in Sydney, Australia for a two-game set March 22-23 to kick things off. This will mark the first time in baseball history that regular-season games have been played in Australia.

Other opening games played outside the U.S., Puerto Rico or Canada came in Monterrey, Mexico (1999) and Tokyo, Japan (2000, 2004, 2008, 2012).

From there, two yet-to-be-named clubs will face off on Sunday night, March 30. Then, traditional "opening day" will be Monday, March 31, with 14 games. The Astros and Yankees aren't set to face off until Tuesday in Houston.

The set of technical "opening day" games, from which the Sunday night game will be chosen, are as follows:

Boston Red Sox at Baltimore Orioles

Chicago Cubs at Pittsburgh Pirates

Cleveland Indians at Oakland Athletics

Colorado Rockies at Miami Marlins

Kansas City Royals at Detroit Tigers

Dodgers at San Diego Padres (remember, the Australia games are more than a week earlier)

Minnesota Twins at Chicago White Sox

Philadelphia Phillies at Texas Rangers

Seattle Mariners at Los Angeles Angels

San Francisco Giants at Diamondbacks (see Dodgers comment above)

St. Louis Cardinals at Cincinnati Reds

Toronto Blue Jays at Tampa Bay Rays

Washington Nationals at New York Mets

Atlanta Braves at Milwaukee Brewers

New York Yankees at Houston Astros

MLB.com master schedule page

Also of note are the interleague matchups. As we know, with 15 teams now in each league, we get it all season, which means at least one interleague matchup per series. Note the Phillies-Rangers opener.

Anyway, the so-called "natural" rivalry matchups (Giants-A's, Cubs-White Sox, Angels-Dodgers, etc.) have been preserved but won't be played all at once. Otherwise the divisional interleague matchups for next season will be as follows:

National League East vs. American League West

National League West vs. American League Central

National League Central vs. American League East

Show Comments Hide Comments