2017 NCAA Baseball Tournament bracket, regional matchups: Miami postseason streak ends at 44 years

On Monday, the selection committee announced the field of 64 for the 2016 NCAA Baseball Tournament, which we'll unveil in a moment. First, though, check these notable omissions ... 

There will be no no U of Miami in the tourney for the first time since 1971. The Canes this season went 31-27 overall and 16-13 in ACC play. That's a respectable in-conference mark considering the strength of the ACC, but the middling out-of-conference body of work proved to be their undoing. Also, Coastal Carolina's exclusion means that we still haven't had a repeat national champion since South Carolina in 2010 and 2011. 

Before we jump in, you should know that the structure of the NCAA Baseball Tournament is a bit different from the more familiar hoops variant. Here are a few takeaways on that front ...

  • The field includes 31 automatic bids via conference championships and 33 at-large entrants. The first round of play is known as the regional, and it's a round-robin, double-elimination format. Each of the 16 one-seeds hosts its respective regional, when possible.
  • The winner of each regional advances to the super regional, which are represented by the blank brackets above. The super regional is a best-of-three series format.
  • The winner of each super regional -- eight teams in all -- advances to the College World Series in Omaha.
  • The College World Series is a double-elimination format until the final two teams are left standing. At that point, it's a best-of-three series to determine the national champion.
  • The field of 64 also includes eight national national seeds, which you may consider the pre-tourney favorites to reach Omaha. Here they are, ranked in order ...
  1. Oregon State (49-4)
  2. North Carolina (47-12)
  3. Florida (42-16)
  4. LSU (43-17)
  5. Texas Tech (43-15)
  6. TCU (42-16)
  7. Louisville (47-10)
  8. Stanford (40-14)

    (If a national seed wins its region, then it hosts the super regional. Otherwise, the sites of the super regionals will be announced after the regional round concludes.)

Regional play gets underway on Thursday, June 1. Now here are the matchups for all 16 regionals (each region is seeded one through four) ... 

Corvallis Regional

  1. Oregon State
  2. Nebraska
  3. Yale
  4. Holy Cross

Clemson Regional

  1. Clemson
  2. Vanderbilt
  3. St. John's
  4. UNC-Greensboro

Long Beach Regional

  1. Long Beach State 
  2. Texas
  3. UCLA
  4. San Diego State

Stanford Regional

  1. Stanford
  2. Cal State Fullerton
  3. Brigham Young
  4. Sacramento State

Lubbock Regional

  1. Texas Tech
  2. Arizona
  3. Sam Houston State
  4. Delaware

Tallahassee Regional

  1. Florida State
  2. Central Florida
  3. Auburn
  4. Tennessee Tech

Hattiesburg Regional

  1. Southern Mississippi
  2. Mississippi State
  3. South Alabama
  4. Illinois-Chicago

Baton Rouge Regional

  1. LSU
  2. Southeastern Louisiana
  3. Rice
  4. Texas Southern

Chapel Hill Regional

  1. North Carolina
  2. Florida-Gulf Coast
  3. Michigan
  4. Davidson

Houston Regional

  1. Houston
  2. Baylor
  3. Texas A&M
  4. Iowa

Lexington Regional

  1. Kentucky
  2. Indiana
  3. NC State
  4. Ohio

Louisville Regional

  1. Louisville
  2. Oklahoma
  3. Xavier
  4. Radford

Ft. Worth Regional

  1. TCU
  2. Virginia
  3. Dallas Baptist
  4. Central Connecticut St.

Fayetteville Regional

  1. Arkansas
  2. Missouri State
  3. Oklahoma State
  4. Oral Roberts

Winston-Salem Regional

  1. Wake Forest
  2. West Virginia
  3. Maryland
  4. Maryland-Baltimore County

Gainesville Regional

  1. Florida
  2. South Florida
  3. Bethune-Cookman
  4. Marist

And here's a link to NCAA.com's bracket, which includes region-to-region pairings. 

Finally, the bids broken down by conference (via NCAA.com) ... 

Bids by conference
Southeastern8 (Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi St., Texas A&M, Vanderbilt)
Atlantic Coast7 (Clemson, Florida St., Louisville, North Carolina, North Carolina St., Virginia, Wake Forest)
Big 127 (Baylor, Oklahoma, Oklahoma St., TCU, Texas, Texas Tech, West Virginia)
Big Ten5 (Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Nebraska)
Pacific-124 (Arizona, Oregon St., Stanford, UCLA)
American Athletic3 (Houston, South Fla., UCF)
Big East2 [St. John's (NY), Xavier]
Big West2 (Cal St. Fullerton, Long Beach St.)
Conference USA2 (Rice, Southern Miss.)
Missouri Valley2 (DBU, Missouri St.)
Southland2 (Sam Houston St., Southeastern La.)
America East1 (UMBC)
Atlantic-101 (Davidson)
Atlantic Sun1 (FGCU)
Big South1 (Radford)
Colonial1 (Delaware)
Horizon1 (Ill.-Chicago)
Ivy1 (Yale)
Metro Atlantic1 (Marist)
Mid-American1 (Ohio)
Mid-Eastern1 (Bethune-Cookman)
Mountain West1 (San Diego St.)
Northeast1 (Central Conn. St.)
Ohio Valley1 (Tennessee Tech)
Patriot1 (Holy Cross)
Southern1 (UNCG)
Southwestern1 (Texas Southern)
Summit1 (Oral Roberts)
Sun Belt1 (South Ala.)
West Coast1 (BYU)
Western Athletic1 (Sacramento St.)

Regional action gets underway on Thursday, and it all leads up to the CWS in Omaha, which starts on June 17. 

So who ya got?

CBS Sports Writer

Dayn Perry has been a baseball writer for CBS Sports since early 2012. Prior to that, he wrote for FOXSports.com and ESPN.com. He's the author of three books, the most recent being Reggie Jackson: The... Full Bio

Our Latest Stories