Asdrubal Cabrera misses cycle on rookie official scorer's ruling

More MLB: Power Rankings | Expert Picks | Latest news & notes | Fantasy news

Shortstop Asdrubal Cabrera had a whale of a game on Thursday as his Indians beat the Twins by the score of 9-4. Cabrera went 4-for-5 with two doubles, one home run and three runs driven in. Here is video of his big day, and pay extra special attention to his fourth and final hit:

Cabrera made it to third base on the fourth hit, which means a triple. After picking up a single, double and homer earlier in the game, Asdrubal just completed the cycle. He sure celebrated like he did.

Except Cabrera did not hit for the cycle. The official scorer ruled that final hit a double and said Cabrera advanced to third on the throw home. As Anthony Castrovine of points out, the official scorer was literally on his first day at the job:

Cabrera did not speak to reporters after the game and was rather annoyed about losing out on the cycle despite his huge day at the plate. I understand being upset, but he came into the game hitting only .215/.296/.314. Losing out on a triple isn't a big deal.

Anyway, Cabrera spoke to reporters before Friday's game and said he's disappointed with not getting the cycle, but indicated neither he nor the team will petition the league for a scoring change. I would have ruled it a double and advancing on the throw as well, but what do I know. Cabrera had a great day at the plate and still ran into some bad luck.

There have been seven cycles in Indians history. Travis Hafner did it most recently in 2009.

(h/t Big League Stew)

CBS Sports Writer

Mike Axisa joined CBS Sports in 2013. He has been a member of the BBWAA since 2015 and has previously written about both fantasy baseball and real life baseball for,,,... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories
    CBS Sports Shop