GIF: Umpires overturn blown call at second base in World Series Game 1
It appeared the Cardinals were about to get away with a gift call in the first inning of World Series Game 1, but the umpires overturned the call after talking it out.
It took all of one inning for the 2013 World Series to provide some mini-controversy. With men on first and second and one out in the bottom of the first inning, David Ortiz hit a weak grounder to second base that looked like a potential double play ball. Matt Carpenter flipped to Pete Kozma for the first out ... then this happened:
Second base umpire Dana Demuth called Dustin Pedroia out at second base, saying Kozma bobbled the transfer. Obviously that was not the case. Kozma just flat out missed the ball.
It looked like the Cardinals got a big break, but the umpiring crew got together and talked the play over after an argument by Red Sox manager John Farrell. After a minute or two, the call was overturned and Pedroia was awarded second base. Everyone was safe, as they should have been. It took a few minutes, but bravo for the umpires getting the call right.
Minutes later, Mike Napoli drove a 2-0 pitch into the gap for a bases-clearing double, which gave Boston an early 3-0 lead in Game 1. And nobody was happier than David Ortiz.
CBS Sports HQ Daily Newsletter
Get the best highlights and stories - yeah, just the good stuff handpicked by our team to start your day.
Thanks for signing up!
Keep an eye on your inbox for the latest sports news.
There was an error processing your subscription.
Arizona locks down an important asset through the 2021 season
It's Game 1 of the World Series, here's everything you need to know
The Red Sox ace sounds ready to go against the Dodgers
The postseason is underway and the World Series starts Oct. 23
Will the Dodgers or Red Sox prevail in the 2018 World Series?
The Dodgers have made some shrewd trades and done very well in the draft