Hall of Fame expansion era ballot announced with big-name managers

Joe Torre and Tony La Russa are both on the Hall of Fame expansion era ballot this time around.
Joe Torre and Tony La Russa are both on the Hall of Fame expansion era ballot this time around. (USATSI)

The Hall of Fame expansion era ballot has been announced and it's headlined by some big-time, big-name managers.

This ballot is not the same one as the BBWAA ballot with players like Craig Biggio, Jack Morris and Barry Bonds vying for the vote this coming January. Here's the Associated Press on the committee who will vote and this specific ballot:

This year’s committee includes Hall of Famers Rod Carew, Carlton Fisk, Whitey Herzog, Tom Lasorda, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan, Phil Niekro and Frank Robinson; Toronto Blue Jays President Paul Beeston; retired club executive Andy MacPhail; Philadelphia Phillies President Dave Montgomery; Chicago White Sox chairman Jerry Reinsdorf; Steve Hirdt of the Elias Sports Bureau; Bruce Jenkins of the San Francisco Chronicle; Baseball Writers’ Association of American Secretary-Treasurer Jack O’Connell; and retired Fort Worth Star-Telegram reporter Jim Reeves.

This year’s ballot, chosen by a BBWAA-appointed historical overview committee, covers baseball’s expansion era. Players, managers, umpires, executives whose most significant impact was from 1973 on were considered as part of a three-year cycle. The golden era (1947-72) will be voted on in 2014 and the pre-integration era (1871-1946) will be judged in 2015.

In order to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, anyone on the ballot will need 75 percent of the vote from the above committee.

Up for induction: Managers Joe Torre, Tony La Russa and Bobby Cox, owner George Steinbrenner, MLBPA head Marvin Miller and players Dave Concepcion, Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Billy Martin (also a manager), Ted Simmons, Dave Parker and Dan Quisenberry.

Vida Blue, Ron Guidry, Al Oliver and Rusty Staub were on the 2010 ballot, but have been dropped off.

It'll certainly be interesting to see how this goes down, because generally speaking these classes are pretty small and at least a handful of those names above seems deserving to be in Cooperstown. Last time around, 2010, only Pat Gillick was elected.

CBS Sports Writer

Matt Snyder has been a baseball writer with CBS Sports since 2011. A member of the BBWAA, he's now covered every World Series since 2010. The former Indiana University baseball player now lives on the... Full Bio

Our Latest Stories