Jose Abreu unanimously wins AL Rookie of the Year

Jose Abreu is your AL Rookie of the Year for 2014.
Jose Abreu is your AL Rookie of the Year for 2014. (USATSI)

White Sox first baseman Jose Abreu has won the 2014 American League Rookie of the Year award, as voted on by the Baseball Writers Association of America. He was a unanimous winner, getting all 30 first-place votes.

Abreu, 27, defected from Cuba and then signed a six-year, $68 million deal with the White Sox last offseason, immediately paying dividends. He'd end the season hitting .317/.383/.581 (169 OPS+) with 35 doubles, 36 homers and 107 RBI. He led the majors in slugging percentage and OPS+.

The Rookie of the Year has been awarded since 1947, with just one winner for the first two years before spiltting into an AL and NL award in 1949. Abreu is the sixth White Sox winner, following Luis Aparicio (1956), Gary Peters (1963), Tommie Agee (1966), Ron Kittle (1983) and Ozzie Guillen (1985).

Abreu stood head and shoulders above the rest of the AL rookie class, but it was still a strong class. Masahiro Tanaka was held to just 20 starts due to injury, but went 13-5 with a 2.77 ERA and 141 strikeouts against just 21 walks in 136 1/3 innings. Dellin Betances had a 1.40 ERA, 0.78 WHIP and 135 strikeouts in 90 relief innings. Yordano Ventura was dominant in a few stretches (this is a regular season award that is voted on before the playoffs, so we can't count his postseason performance) and Matt Shoemaker was 16-4 with a 3.04 ERA. Don't forget about Collin McHugh, who went 11-9 with a 2.73 ERA for Houston.

A few of those guys could have taken the NL award, but that's how it goes sometimes. This was a crowded field with an MVP-caliber player at the top.

As noted above, Abreu got all 30 first-place votes. Shoemaker finished second, getting 12 second-place votes and four third-place votes. Betances was third with seven second-place votes and six third-place votes. McHugh finished fourth. BBWAA has provided a full voting breakdown, which you can see by clicking here.

CBS Sports Writer

Matt Snyder has been a baseball writer with CBS Sports since 2011. A member of the BBWAA, he's now covered every World Series since 2010. The former Indiana University baseball player now lives on the... Full Bio

Our Latest Stories