Maddux, Thomas headline 2014 BBWAA Hall of Fame ballot

Frank Thomas and Greg Maddux have a shot at being first ballot Hall of Famers.
Frank Thomas and Greg Maddux have a shot at being first ballot Hall of Famers. (Getty Images)

Expansion Era Hall of Fame ballot contains big-name managers

The 2014 BBWAA Hall of Fame ballot was revealed on the voting body's official website Tuesday, with very few surprises, as usual. And it is a stacked ballot, to be sure.

Each qualifying member of the BBWAA can submit a ballot with zero to 10 names and any player receiving a vote on at least 75 percent of the ballots will be inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame next summer. Each individual player will remain on the ballot for 15 years, unless he receives less than five percent of the vote -- in which case he falls off the ballot.

Last season, zero players were elected by the BBWAA. This season, it would be pretty surprising if that were a repeat, considering both the returnees and the new entries.

As for the returning names, the players with the best chance to be inducted are Craig Biggio (68.2 percent of the vote last season), Jack Morris (67.7 percent -- and this is his last chance), Jeff Bagwell (59.6 percent), Mike Piazza (57.8 percent) and Tim Raines (52.2 percent).

The other returnees, including the percentage of the vote received last season:

Lee Smith (47.8)
Curt Schilling (38.8)
Roger Clemens (37.6)
Barry Bonds (36.2)
Edgar Martinez (35.9)
Alan Trammell (33.6)
Larry Walker (21.6)
Fred McGriff (20.7)
Mark McGwire (16.9)
Don Mattingly (13.2)
Sammy Sosa (12.5)
Rafael Palmeiro (8.8)

As for the first-timers, Greg Maddux, Frank Thomas and Tom Glavine headline the impressive group. One would guess each of the three have a good shot at induction in his first try this time around, especially Maddux.

Mike Mussina and Jeff Kent are also first-timers who should remain on the ballot for at least the next few years.

The rest of the first-timers on the BBWAA Hall of Fame ballot: Luis Gonzalez, Moises Alou, Kenny Rogers, Hideo Nomo, Eric Gagne, Sean Casey, Ray Durham, Richie Sexson, J.T. Snow, Mike Timlin, Armando Benitez, Jacque Jones, Todd Jones and Paul Lo Duca.

Voting results will be announced on Jan. 8.

CBS Sports Writer

Matt Snyder has been a baseball writer with CBS Sports since 2011. A member of the BBWAA, he's now covered the last six World Series beginning with the epic 2011 Fall Classic. The former Indiana University... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories