MLB acknowledges 'improper call' on Wednesday's blown home run

More MLB: Scoreboard | Standings | Probable Pitchers | Sortable Stats | Odds

In the wake of Wednesday night's blown home run call in the Athletics-Indians game, MLB has issued the following statement:

"By rule, the decision to reverse a call by use of instant replay is at the sole discretion of the crew chief. In the opinion of Angel Hernandez, who was last night's crew chief, there was not clear and convincing evidence to overturn the decision on the field. It was a judgment call, and as such, it stands as final.

"Home and away broadcast feeds are available for all uses of instant replay, and they were available to the crew last night. Given what we saw, we recognize that an improper call was made. Perfection is an impossible standard in any endeavor, but our goal is always to get the calls right. Earlier this morning, we began the process of speaking with the crew to thoroughly review all the circumstances surrounding last night's decision."

The home run off the bat of Adam Rosales would have tied the game in the top of the ninth inning, as you can see in the video above. Instead, it was ruled a double and the Athletics went on to lose.

Jon Heyman of explained why the league should not have overturned the incorrect call.

Show Comments Hide Comments