MLB changes error, gives Ortiz a hit following Darvish's near no-hitter
MLB has overturned the controversial error in Yu Darvish's near no-hitter, instead crediting David Ortiz with a hit.
A few days ago Rangers ace Yu Darvish flirted with a no-hitter against the Red Sox, but only after he lost the perfect game when this David Ortiz blooper fell between rookie second baseman Rougned Odor and outfielder Alex Rios:
I'm sure you remember that. The play was ruled an error and the call was rather controversial, at least for a few minutes. Ortiz broke up Darvish's no-hitter with a legitimate ground ball single with two outs in the ninth inning. It's the second time Darvish has lost a no-no with two outs in the ninth since last April.
Following the game, Ortiz officially appealed the scoring decision on the error because he wanted the hit. MLB announced on Wednesday that they have overturned the call, changing the error to a base hit. Darvish's one-hitter is now a two-hitter.
To his credit, Ortiz said he would not have appealed the error had Darvish completed the no-hitter. That wouldn't have stopped everyone from arguing about it, of course.
CBS Sports HQ Daily Newsletter
Get the best highlights and stories - yeah, just the good stuff handpicked by our team to start your day.
Thanks for signing up!
Keep an eye on your inbox for the latest sports news.
There was an error processing your subscription.
Yelich didn't mince words after Game 4 of the NLCS
The Brewers’ Game 4 starter will not be eligible to play in the World Series, should Milwaukee...
Thanks to Bellinger's heroics, the NLCS tied at two games apiece
Machado has not painted a pretty picture of himself, so he might as well embrace being the...
The bullpens carried the day (and night) in Game 4
The NLCS starts Oct. 12 in Milwaukee