Sean Manaea didn't realize he was no-hitting the Red Sox until the eighth inning
He thought Marcus Semien's dropped pop-up was ruled a hit a few innings earlier
Manaea, however, did not realize he had a no-hitter going until the eighth inning. Shortstop Marcus Semien dropped a popup in shallow center field earlier in the game, and Manaea assumed it was scored a base hit. It was not. Semien was charged with an error. Here's the play:
After the game, Manaea told reporters it wasn't until he glanced at the scoreboard later in the game that he realized he was working on a no-hitter. Here he is talking about it during his postgame press conference:
Stories like this can be hard to believe -- dude, how do you not realize you're throwing a no-hitter?!? -- but I totally buy it. Pitchers get so locked in on their game plan and so zoned in during starts that it can be easy to shift focus after the dropped popup and begin thinking about the next hitter.
As for the play itself ... yeah, that's usually scored a base hit. It was not a routine play at all, and whenever an infielder is unable to make an over-the-shoulder catch like that, he's usually given the benefit of the doubt and not charged with an error. In this instance, Semien will happily take one for Manaea.
CBS Sports HQ Daily Newsletter
Get the best highlights and stories - yeah, just the good stuff handpicked by our team to start your day.
Thanks for signing up!
Keep an eye on your inbox for the latest sports news.
There was an error processing your subscription.
Can the 2018 Yankees make homer history? According to SportsLine's projections, it may be a...
Gregorius will miss at least 10 days with a bruised heel
The AL West race is the best race remaining in baseball
Could this be the year we get a massive tiebreaker scenario for a wild-card spot?
San Francisco is 7 1/2 games out of a postseason spot
Michael Rusk has a three-way parlay that could pay off huge Tuesday