Troy Tulowitzki top vote-getter so far in NL All-Star balloting

Rockies shortstop Troy Tulowitzki is rightfully the top vote-getter so far in NL All-Star voting.
Rockies shortstop Troy Tulowitzki is rightfully the top vote-getter so far in NL All-Star voting. (USATSI)

More All-Star coverage: AL leaders | Snyder's ballot

Major League Baseball has now released its first update of the season on the National League All-Star balloting for the starters in the 2014 Midsummer Classic.

There are several close races and voting continues through 11:59 p.m. ET on July 3, so a few of these races could change.

To cast your own ballot, hop on over to

Here are the updated tallies by position (click here for full MLB PR release).

First base

1. Adrian Gonzalez , Los Angeles Dodgers ; 349,762
2. Freddie Freeman , Atlanta Braves ; 308,961
3. Justin Morneau , Colorado Rockies ; 305,327

Second base

1. Chase Utley , Philadelphia Phillies ; 509,390
2. Dee Gordon , Dodgers; 304,258
3. Brandon Phillips , Cincinnati Reds ; 187,067

Third base

1. Nolan Arenado , Rockies; 318,111
2. Aramis Ramirez , Milwaukee Brewers ; 282,843
3. David Wright , New York Mets ; 278,425


1. Troy Tulowitzki , Rockies; 745,823
2. Brandon Crawford , San Francisco Giants ; 218,123
3. Andrelton Simmons , Braves; 207,402


1. Yadier Molina , St. Louis Cardinals ; 640,464
2. Buster Posey , Giants: 421,100
3. Evan Gattis , Braves; 241,005


1. Charlie Blackmon , Rockies; 549,394
2. Andrew McCutchen , Pittsburgh Pirates ; 467,378
3. Ryan Braun , Brewers; 446,780
4. Giancarlo Stanton , Miami Marlins ; 426,228
5. Yasiel Puig , Dodgers; 383,384
6. Carlos Gomez , Brewers; 370,630

Holy Rockies!

The NL will also have a designated hitter, but that will be named by the manager, Cardinals skipper Mike Matheny. So as things stood now, the starters would be Gonzalez, Utley, Arenado (who may still be injured by the time the game is played), Tulowitzki, Molina, Blackmon, McCutchen and Braun along with Matheny's choice for DH.

Again, though, there's lots of time still remaining to cast those ballots.

CBS Sports Writer

Matt Snyder has been a baseball writer with CBS Sports since 2011. A member of the BBWAA, he's now covered the last six World Series beginning with the epic 2011 Fall Classic. The former Indiana University... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories