St. Louis Cardinals

Team RankingAVGRHRERA
Cardinals.2615911504.03
NL Central1st3rd4th1st
National League 5th7th10th4th

Last Game

Wed, August 23
Busch Stadium
San Diego Padres
at
St. Louis Cardinals
SD2Final6STL

Pitching

W: L. Weaver (2-1)
L:
J. Chacin (11-9)

Home Runs

SD - C. Spangenberg (13)  
STL
- None

Schedule

Sat Aug 12
W 6 - 5ATL
Recap
Sun Aug 13
L 6 - 3ATL
Recap
Tue Aug 15
L 10 - 4at BOS
Recap
Wed Aug 16
L 5 - 4at BOS
Recap
Thu Aug 17
W 11 - 7at PIT
Recap
Fri Aug 18
W 11 - 10at PIT
Recap
Sat Aug 19
L 6 - 4at PIT
Recap
Sun Aug 20
L 6 - 3at PIT
Recap
Tue Aug 22
L 12 - 4SD
Recap
Wed Aug 23
W 6 - 2SD
Recap
7:15 pm EDT
Today
SD
8:15 pm EDT
Fri Aug 25
TB
7:15 pm EDT
Sat Aug 26
TB
2:15 pm EDT
Sun Aug 27
TB
7:40 pm EDT
Tue Aug 29
at MIL
2:10 pm EDT
Wed Aug 30
at MIL
10:15 pm EDT
Thu Aug 31
at SF
10:15 pm EDT
Fri Sep 1
at SF
4:05 pm EDT
Sat Sep 2
FS1at SF
4:05 pm EDT
Sun Sep 3
at SF

Standings

NL
Central
LEAGUE
W-L
Overall
W-L
Chicago57-5068-57
Milwaukee55-5366-62
St. Louis57-5264-62
Pittsburgh53-5661-66
Cincinnati48-6253-74
1503525601
Cardinals' Matt Carpenter: Unavailable due to illness
by RotoWire Staff | RotoWire

Manager Mike Matheny said Carpenter is out of Wednesday's lineup against the Padres due to an illness, Jim Hayes of FOX Sports Midwest reports.

Carpenter was sent home before the game, so he won't even be available off the bench. The Cardinals will likely wait and see how he's feeling Thursday before deciding on his status for the series finale. Jedd Gyorko is starting at first base in his stead.

Share: Twitter Facebook
1503524412
Cardinals' Trevor Rosenthal: Will undergo Tommy John surgery
by RotoWire Staff | RotoWire

Rosenthal will require Tommy John surgery to repair his elbow, Derrick Goold of the St. Loius Post-Dispatch reports.

This is tough news for Rosenthal, as a second opinion from Dr. Neal ElAttrache confirmed he's dealing with a tear of the ulnar collateral ligament in his right elbow that will require surgery to repair. The good news is he's not dealing with a total UCL rupture, according to David Solomon of 550 KTRS, though his status for 2018 remains up in the air. Seung Hwan Oh should now be first in line for saves in St. Louis for the remainder of the season.

Share: Twitter Facebook
1503521344
Cardinals' Randal Grichuk: Not starting Wednesday
by RotoWire Staff | RotoWire

Grichuk isn't in the lineup for Wednesday's game against the Padres.

For the second consecutive game, Grichuk is being withheld from the starting lineup. Stephen Piscotty will draw another start in right field and hit seventh while Grichuk remains on the bench.

Share: Twitter Facebook
1503521153
Cardinals' Matt Carpenter: Absent from Wednesday's lineup
by RotoWire Staff | RotoWire

Carpenter is out of the lineup Wednesday against the Padres.

Since the beginning of August, Carpenter has posted a bleak .197 batting average. However, he's still been finding ways to get on base, as he's put together a .384 on-base percentage in that time. He'll get the night off while Jedd Gyorko covers first base.

Share: Twitter Facebook
1503519370
Cardinals' Josh Lucas: Returns to Triple-A
by RotoWire Staff | RotoWire

Lucas was optioned to Triple-A Memphis on Wednesday.

Lucas' first stint in the majors lasted just four days, during which he pitched four innings over two games. Batters enjoyed facing Lucas, as he gave up five hits in that time, with two of them being home runs. He'll look to improve his game at Memphis, where he's notched a 3.34 ERA and 1.17 WHIP over 43 games (56.2 innings) this season.

Share: Twitter Facebook
 
2017 Team Leaders
AVGTommy Pham , LF.305
HRPaul DeJong , SS20
RBIJedd Gyorko , 3B61
OBPTommy Pham , LF.397
SLGTommy Pham , LF.497
RMatt Carpenter , 1B69
SBTommy Pham , LF16
WAdam Wainwright , SP12
ERALance Lynn , SP3.17
WHIPLance Lynn , SP1.17
KCarlos Martinez , SP169
SVSeung-Hwan Oh , RP19

Latest Cardinals Video

More Cardinals