Getty Images

Arguably the most complete fighter in UFC history, former two-division champion Georges St-Pierre will take his rightful place in the promotion's Hall of Fame. 

St-Pierre (26-2) was named Saturday night during UFC 249 to the 2020 class of the UFC Hall of Fame. A native of Montreal, the 38-year-old St-Pierre, who retired for the second time in early 2019, will be inducted to the "Modern Wing" in a ceremony, originally scheduled for July, that will take place sometime later this year because of the coronavirus pandemic. 

"Georges St-Pierre is a pioneer of Canadian MMA who helped build the sport globally," UFC president Dana White said. "He is the most famous athlete to ever come out of Canada and one of the greatest martial artists of all-time. We're proud to induct him into the UFC Hall of Fame Class of 2020."

Beloved for his class, professionalism and commitment to excellence, St-Pierre fought 23 of his 28 pro bouts in the UFC over a 17-year career that saw him win titles at welterweight and middleweight. 

Along with being one of just seven two-division champions, St-Pierre will enter the Hall of Fame with the second most consecutive wins (13) and title wins (13) in UFC history. His 20 UFC wins are tied for third most. GSP also holds the record for most career takedowns with 90 and most strikes landed with 2,591. 

The greatest 170-pound fighter in MMA history, St-Pierre first captured the UFC welterweight title in 2006 by stopping Matt Hughes in their rematch. Although he would be upset by Matt Serra in his next fight, GSP regained his title by finishing Serra three fights later at UFC 83. 

St-Pierre went on to make nine defenses of his welterweight title before stepping away from the sport on top in 2013 after edging Johny Hendricks by split decision. Four years later, GSP returned and moved up to middleweight where he submitted Michael Bisping to win the middleweight title at UFC 217. 

Among his many great accolades, St-Pierre holds wins over Hughes (twice), BJ Penn (twice), Josh Koscheck (twice), Serra (twice), Jon Fitch, Thiago Alves, Jake Shields, Carlos Condit and Nick Diaz.