In the six-year history of the event, only Simon Pagenaud and Will Power have won IndyCar's GMR Grand Prix. Contenders such as Scott Dixon, Josef Newgarden and Alexander Rossi will look to change that trend when the 2020 GMR Grand Prix gets underway at noon ET on Saturday from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course. This year's event was originally scheduled for May 9, but is now being run on the Fourth of July after the 2020 IndyCar NTT Series schedule was shaken up due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Dixon, who won the season-opening Genesys 300 last week and has three consecutive runner-up performances in this event, is the 4-1 favorite in the 2020 GMR Grand Prix odds from William Hill. Power and Pagenaud, both three-time winners, are each getting 5-1 in the 2020 IndyCar at Indianapolis odds. Before making any 2020 GMR Grand Prix picks, be sure to see the 2020 IndyCar at Indianapolis predictions and projected leaderboard from the proven model at SportsLine.

Developed by daily Fantasy pro and SportsLine predictive data engineer Mike McClure, this proprietary racing prediction model simulates every race 10,000 times, taking into account factors such as track history and recent results.

The model has made some huge calls in NASCAR this year, picking Denny Hamlin to win his second consecutive Daytona 500 at 10-1. Using the model, McClure also recommended an outright play on winner Brad Keselowski at 13-1 as one of his best bets at Bristol. The model also called Kevin Harvick's win at Atlanta and nailed a whopping nine top-10 finishers in that race. Additionally, McClure used the model to lock in a bet for Hamlin at 10-1 for his win at Miami. 

And in IndyCar, it called five of the top 10 finishers in the Indianapolis 500 in both 2018 and 2019. The model knows what it takes to win in Indianapolis, and anybody who has followed it has seen huge returns.

Now, the model simulated the GMR Grand Prix 2020 on Saturday, July 4 10,000 times. Head here to see the complete projected leaderboard.

Top 2020 GMR Grand Prix predictions

For the 2020 GMR Grand Prix, the model is high on Ryan Hunter-Reay, even though he's a 22-1 long shot in the latest 2020 IndyCar at Indianapolis odds. He's a target for anyone looking for a huge payday. The 39-year old Andretti Autosport driver finished eighth in the IndyCar standings in 2019.

And he's historically been impressive at the Indy road course. He has three top-10 finishes in the event, including a third-place performance in 2017 and a runner-up in 2014. He also got off to a strong start to this season, finishing eighth at Texas last week. Despite his history of contending, he's drawing long odds this week, making him one of the 2020 GMR Grand Prix bets you should be all over.

And a massive shocker: Simon Pagenaud, one of the top Vegas favorites, stumbles big-time and barely cracks the top five. There are far better values in this loaded 2020 GMR Grand Prix starting lineup. Pagenaud is a three-time winner of this event, but he's also struggled.

He finished 25th in the 2015 GMR Grand Prix and had to settle for eighth place in 2018. And while he swept the two Indianapolis events in 2019, he wasn't as dominant as the season went on, winning just one of the final 11 races. The model has taken all of that into account and has identified him as one of the 2020 GMR Grand Prix favorites to fade this week. 

How to make 2020 GMR Grand Prix picks

The model is also targeting two other drivers with 2020 IndyCar at Indianapolis odds of 22-1 or longer to make a serious run at the checkered flag, including a massive long shot. Anyone who backs these drivers could hit it big. You can only see them here.

So who wins Saturday's GMR Grand Prix 2020? And which long shots stun IndyCar? Check out the latest odds below and then visit SportsLine now to see the full projected 2020 IndyCar at Indianapolis leaderboard, all from the model that has crushed its NASCAR picks and called five of the top-10 drivers at the Indianapolis 500 for the past two years, and find out.

2020 GMR Grand Prix odds (via William Hill)

Scott Dixon 4-1
Simon Pagenaud 5-1
Will Power 5-1
Josef Newgarden 11-2
Alexander Rossi 6-1
Felix Rosenqvist 7-1
Colton Herta 10-1
Ryan Hunter-Reay 22-1
Graham Rahal 25-1
James Hinchcliffe 25-1
Takuma Sato 35-1
Santino Ferrucci 60-1
Spencer Pigot 60-1
Pato O'Ward 75-1
Marcus Ericsson 75-1
Zach Veach 75-1
Oliver Askew 100-1
Marco Andretti 100-1
Rinus VeeKay 125-1
Charlie Kimball 125-1
Conor Daly 150-1
Max Chilton 200-1
Jack Harvey 200-1
Alex Palou 200-1
Sage Karam 200-1
Dalton Kellett 250-1